Equipment - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

Equipment

My approach to equipment is that although I am not a weight weenie by any stretch of the imagination, I am aware of the need to not be encumbered by a massive load. Also, weighing in at about 95kg, I don't want to stress my bike and wheels too much (or my pocket).
I reckon that Deore components are good enough for what I need, and hopefully they will see me through.
My last rear wheel was a mavic A319, but cracked by the spoke eyelets after a few years, so I have replaced it with the stronger A719.
After having problems with cheap racks, and being put off by the cost and unnecessary weight / weak points due to adjustment points of good quality ones, I decided to build my own from 10mm mild steel tube with a wall thickness of 1mm. They are made to measure, so have no adjustments, and weigh slightly less than Tubus equivalents. So far they have served me well.

I bought a new 62cm Surly LHT frame at the end of 2010 and built this bike up from scratch, using parts from an older bike, or with parts from ebay where possible.

Brooks B17 saddle
Schwalbe Marathon Plus tyres, 700 x 35c
Rear wheel - Mavic A719 with Shimano Deore hub
Front wheel - Mavic A319 with a Shimano Deore LX dynamo hub
Busch & Muller Lumotec LED headlight - powered by dynamo hub
Bar end shifters
Shimano Deore crank 22-32-44
Sram chain and 11-32 cassette
V brakes with Kool Stop brake pads and Dia Compe levers
Front and rear racks - self made with MIG welded 10mm mild steel tube
Double thickness of thick tape on the handlebars

By the time I leave i'll have fitted new chain, cassette, small and middle chain rings, brake pads and tyres.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Ortlieb front and rear paniers, and handlebar bag

My tent is a Wild Country Duolite Tourer, with plenty of room for my 6'4" self. I plan to camp wherever possible, but am open to Motels, warmshowers or any other options.
I also plan to cook whenever possible. The stove is an MSR WhisperLite, and for pans i'm using a set of Army mess tins a neighbour gave me as a child. They're aluminium (light enough), and because there are 2 they are very versatile - most importantly, they allow me to cook a curry and rice!

Although i'm more than happy to ride in lycra when at home, when touring I prefer to wear more "normal" clothing. I have modified a couple of pairs of outdoor trousers with zips, so the leg doesn't get caught in the chain whilst riding.
After trying out Icebreaker merino clothing i've become a convert, and have boxer shorts and some short and long sleeve tops from them.
I'll cycle in Shimano SPD sandals, with various socks and overshoes to hopefully cover all conditions. I've got some crocs for "normal" footwear - ha ha.
All other clothing and waterproofs are just normal cycling or outdoor ones.

I'm not a huge fan of electronic gadgets, but will be touring with a netbook for the first time.
The hub dynamo can recharge batteries for a mobile (cell) phone and compact point and press camera using a home made adaptor.
I always ride with a heart rate monitor following problems with overtraining / chronic fatigue many years ago, mainly just for peace of mind, but it does keep things more controlled on long ascents.
The cycle computer is a simple wired one with only a few basic functions.
GPS? No thanks, it's not for me, i'm happy with paper maps, looking at the sun, or, if I get desperate i'll read my tea leaves for inspiration.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0