Murphy's Cove to Sherbrooke - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2012

Murphy's Cove to Sherbrooke

There was some more rain today, typically when I was about to pack away the tent, and some really heavy rain whilst riding. It didn't matter though, as although the scenery is tame on the Eastern Shore compared to Newfoundland, there was some great riding with lots of small hills - but steep enough to reach what now seems like a slow 43mph - and the light traffic didn't bother me and the miles just flew by.

Marine Drive, the route I am taking at the moment.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Nothing of note happened during the day, until I rode into Sherbrooke looking for the campground and saw their museum depicting life in the 1800's. I didn't go inside as it was due to close soon, but when I saw the water powered sawmill in operation it was too much, and I rushed in , studying it in detail like an excited schoolboy.

The McDonald Bros. Sawmill at Sherbrooke. No red haired yellow clothed clowns to be seen anywhere (fortunately).
Heart 0 Comment 0

I am now at the St Mary's Riverside Campground, on the bank of the St Mary's River, with the fog rolling in and a pair of loons can occasionally be heard calling. I have been looking hard at the maps, and plan to ride the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton before heading back to Prince Edward Island (PEI), then New Brunswick, then will take what will almost certainly be my last ferry from St John to Digby before flying out of Halifax in just over 3 weeks time. So there you have it, a tentative plan which is, of course, subject to change.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 7,875 miles (12,674 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0