Montreal River to Sault Ste. Marie - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2012

Montreal River to Sault Ste. Marie

I awoke from a good sleep to the sound of waves crashing on the beach not far from my ear, and a wet sleeping bag - not from the waves, but from the heavy dew. This didn't bother me though, as the heat wave we had had for the past 2 weeks showed no signs of stopping, and I knew it woud dry out in no time later on when the sun got hot.

A perfect start to the day's cycling would have a rest stop after 20 or 30 miles, and unlike most of the north shore of Lake Superior which is very undeveloped, one appeared right on cue today at Pancake Bay. At first I was disappointed, as they didn't have any cinnamon buns, so I tried a butter tart instead, something Kate had been singing the praise of for a long time. WOW! I think I also bought some fresh fruit and groceries, but all I can remember clearly is my first butter tart. And the second.

From Pancake Bay to Sault Ste. Marie, the area got more and more developed, with the roads getting busier as we neared the city, with drivers becoming less patient as their weekend was about to start. When we saw our comrades in ice cream waving us over, we knew our fortunes had changed, and assisted them in their endeavours to demolish a 4 litre block of mint choc chip.

Comrades in ice cream.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Refreshed, both in calories and spirits, we rode the last section to Velorution, a bike shop in Sault Ste. Marie which offers free camping to cyclists in a wooded area adjacent to the shop, has wifi, and showers. This place is legendary amongst the cycle touring community, and there were a total of 12 cyclists staying the night, a perfect opportunity to compare routes, equipment and one pot meals.

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 4,629 miles (7,450 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0