Rest days in Sault Ste. Marie. - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2012

Rest days in Sault Ste. Marie.

Now that I have finished riding along the shore of Lake Superior, I feel it would be a good time to put to rest some of the horror stories I haad heard prior to cycling it. The traffic is NOT very heavy, and in fact in most areas is very light and considerate. The scenery is NOT boring, it is some of the best I have seen, and has transformed my opinion of Ontario. The hills are NOT too steep, OR too frequent , mundane, tiresome or rhythm disrupting. In fact, the steepest section was only 7% gradient (and only for a short distance), and having crossed the mountains in B.C. they were a breeze, not even needing the smallest chainring.

Velorution's HQ, a must stop for anyone passing throo the Soo.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Saturday didn't promise to be a very exciting day, with a long list of mundane chores to do, like bike cleaning and repair, laundry and catching up on internet stuff. It was however helped considerably by the presence of Presto's large breakfasts, and the Superior Bakery's butter tarts. And cinnamon buns. And cherry turnovers.

By about 5 o'clock I felt overwhelmed by all the things that still needed doing, and didn't feel rested, so with virtually no effort talked Kate into staying put another day, and suddenly relaxed and enjoyed the remainder of the day much more, suddenly finding the energy to cook a fish curry. A large group sat up chatting until dark, by which time my sleeping bag was calling loudly for me.

A bike with a 216cm frame? That will be no problem Sir.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Sunday was spent finishing chores, and then exploring the waterfront downtown, and of course making sure that the Superior Bakery didn't go out of business.

Crowded but fun camping at Velorution.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Although I had promised myself on both days that I would have riding free days, I failed miserably, although not excessively, as my rested legs are now ready to start turning again. Tomorrow might however prove to be difficult to get going, as this is the longest I have spent in one place since San Francisco. Stay tuned to see if I can escape the magnetic attraction of Velorution's camping lot.

A pleasure craft dwarfed by the lock between St Mary's River and Lake Superior.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 4,650 miles (7,483 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0