Montesano to Brinnon - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

May 9, 2012

Montesano to Brinnon

I had probably the worst nights sleep of the trip last night. The ground that the tent was pitched on was really hard packed earth, and combined with my sleeping mat, a Thermalite Z-Rest, which isn't really thick enough for someone of my size, I kept waking up with numb arms or shoulders, and got very cold. Anyway, a cup of tea with breakfast soon sorted me out, and after saying farewell to the others, and having seen my first chipmonk ever, was on the road in good time.

View of the campsite when leaving early in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Before long I had my second dog chase of the trip, but this one wasn't a fierce looking one to be scared of, so I enjoyed the sport, letting it get close and slowly accelerating away from it. Then, just before stopping for a second breakfast at McCleary, the two guys from last night came powering past me, drafting very closely with their lightweight rigs, and slowing down enough to say farewell. Again.

It's really noticeable over here that when you go past a field of cows, which I have done many times so far, most of them stare at you as though they have never seen someone on a bike before. I've even had some chase me, but were separated by the fence, fortunately. Yesterday I noticed some horses trying to stare me out too. Maybe they're just bored.

The first sightings of mountains was made today; The Olympic Mountains.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After the route discussions last night, I decided to go up the side of the Hood Canal. I got to a suitable stopping place, The Potlatch State Campground at about half past two, but there wasn't a great deal to do there, and the tent pitches were on hard gravel, so decision made, time for another 28 miles to the Dosewallips State Campground, which turned out to be a great decision, one of the best campgrounds so far, with lots of grass and not too many trees. On the way there, whilst stopping for a call of nature, I heard a call of nature and spotted an eagle in the trees. Maybe not the best photo ever taken of one, but certainly the best photo I've ever taken of one.

The eagle has landed.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 81 miles (130 km)
Total: 1,377 miles (2,216 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0