Brinnon to Port Townsend - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

May 10, 2012

Brinnon to Port Townsend

What a difference the sunshine makes! Or maybe it was just that the area I was moving into had a good vibe about it, but let's thank the sunshine. From the moment it tried (unsuccessfully) to wake me up by streaming through the tent fabric (I pulled the fleece hat I had been wearing in bed down over my eyes) to setting up camp for the night in the shade of the trees, the sun has been my constant companion today. I had promised myself a late start and a short day today, the goal being just to get to Port Townsend, and the slow steady pace was a welcome change from yesterday.

View up the Dosewallips River towards the snow capped Olympic Range.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Physical Therapy? On yer bike!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I managed to find a quiet road, away from the logging traffic of the 101, and arrived at Chimacum nicely relaxed and ready for lunch, and was drawn towards the Chimacum Corner Farmstand and their picnic benches and cool music playing. I spent what seemed like ages here, refuelling, chatting to some interesting locals and just chilling out, before the final stretch into Port Townsend. This is a major city for this area, but has a good feel to it, a very pretty downtown, a good bicycle infrastructure and culture, and the Fort Worden State Park which is not far from the centre of town, and has hiker biker sites.

Great lunch stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Whilst getting registered at the Campground I met Neil, the campground host and a keen cycle tourist, where some good stories were swapped before heading off to set up, eat and shower. After this was done I headed back to see Neil who gave me some invaluable ferry and island advice, as well as a very thorough insight into the San Juan Islands, which I am now very keen to spend some time in - I will make up the time and miles when I get to the prairies and there isn't so much to see.

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 1,421 miles (2,287 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0