Moisie to Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2012

Moisie to Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan

There was heavy rain during the night last night, and I was slow to get packed away and on the road this morning, although after about 20 miles or so everything had warmed up again and I was into the swing of things. At an information centre and rest stop at Manitou I stopped for a first lunch, and got chatting to a very friendly couple of triathletes who had passed me (in their car) and waved a few times over the last 2 days.

The empty winding road ahead, with the mornings overcast skies.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My second lunch stop was at Riviere-au-Tonnerre, which has the first store since Sept-Iles, about 130km away. The store sells everything from gun cases to tea bags, and they can be found next to each other on the shelves.

Heart 1 Comment 0

As I get further from Sept-Iles, the traffic is becoming less and less, and the drivers are becoming friendlier and more considerate, and quite often I see and recognise the same vehicle passing me more than once.

Quiet straight road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Magpie Power Station, which, contrary to what the name suggests does NOT use magpies, or any other type of bird to generate electricity, but just plain old water power.
Heart 0 Comment 0

By contrast to yesterday, there has been a strong tail wind today, so not wanting to waste it I rode to Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan before finding a camping site. The lady who booked me in reduced the fee from $10 to $5 as she was so impressed with my trip, and as this included a hot shower and camping right by the beach I was a happyguyonabike. The weather is getting noticeably cooler now, and tonight for the first time since Manitoba I had to put on long trousers.

Camping at Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 95 miles (153 km)
Total: 6,328 miles (10,184 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0