Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan to Baie Johan Beetz - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2012

Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan to Baie Johan Beetz

It is amazing how much better I slept last night, no doubt helped by the lower temperature. I was on the road early, and spent 3 1/2 hours in Havre-St-Pierre catching up with wifi, buying groceries and eating, the 3 biggest time consumers of this trip, other than the actual cycling.

Sunrise on the beach.
Heart 0 Comment 0

During the afternoon a guy at the side of the road was filming me cycling along, then started to cheer and shout "bravo" as I got close to him. I guess that they don't get many people cycling along this route.

The landscape is changing noticeably now.
Heart 1 Comment 0

At Baie Johan Beetz I went straight to the Visitor Information Centre, and was directed to a camping area by the water side, designed for touring kayakers, and given some drinking water. Before going there, I went to the local store / gas station / town offices for a beer, but as they only sold them in 6 packs I skipped the beer, and as I couldn't eat 2 litres of ice cream, the smallest quantity ot this cycling staple, I just filled up with gas (petrol) for the stove.

Camping by the sea at Baie Johan Beetz.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At the waterside I made do with drinking tea whilst finishing the packet of butter tarts bought earlier. Later in the evening many people started to appear at the Quay. I went to investigate, and they were all locals fishing or just hanging around chatting. They were pulling mackerel out like they were going out of fashion, with up to 3 on a line at a time. Whilst watching and chatting to them (as well as my poor French would allow) I saw another whale pass by. Their dialect has changed noticeably, but as they have only been connected by road since 1996 it is not suprising.

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 6,402 miles (10,303 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0