Marathon to White River - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2012

Marathon to White River

There was a thunderstorm and heavy rain last night. My first thought when hearing it was "is my saddle covered up?" For anyone not familiar with such things, it is a Brooks B17, a leather saddle, and being one of the few points where the body makes contact with the bike, and one where comfort is a major concern. I was concerned. I went back to sleep convinced that I had covered it up, but even so, upon waking in the morning, the first thing that I did was to check, and fortunately I had.

There was nothing to break up the road until White Lake Provincial Park where we took a 6 mile diversion to find a picnic bench and have a swim, except for a gold mine - a place causing massive environmental damage for a relatively useless metal, used only in electronics and for teeth.

Not only did we spot another bear today, but possibly even more exciting we spotted Kim and Debbie's tent again today, at the area outside the Information Centre where camping is allowed and free, and spotted the tent's inhabitants at Picnic Lake where we went for a swim (shower substitute).

Expanding my range of employment possibilities ready for my return.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Later that evening Cody (who we had met briefly at Nipigon) joined us, and after chatting away for a while I was driven to bed by tiredness and the mossies, to fall asleep under a full moon, although not before having taken extra bear precautions as there had been some local "activity" in the camping area recently.

White River, where Winnie The Pooh started.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 4,428 miles (7,126 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0