Bodega Bay to Anchor Bay - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

April 19, 2012

Bodega Bay to Anchor Bay

There wwas light rain in the night, or at least it sounded like it from the warmth and comfort of my sleeping bag, and the heavy mist that had rolled in last night was still there, so I packed the tent away wet, and was on the road just after 7, with lights and hi-vis jacket on.

The road followed closely to the coast today, frequently turning inland and dropping sharply, then a fast hairpin bend as the road crossed a river, and more climbing back onto the higher ground following the coast. This pattern continued all day and provided some interesting riding, even though the views were obscured by the mist until the early afternoon.

Climbing out of the mist.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had my first sighting of other cycle tourists today when I met Tom and Mathias at a cafe in Fort Ross. They gave me an ACA map of Oregon they had been given earlier on and had finished with. Thanks guys.

A wild Turkey. They make whiskey out of these.
Heart 2 Comment 0

My first look at a campsite at Gualala Point was just that, a quick look. At $28 with no showers, no thanks! A few miles later on I came to the Anchor Bay Campground, with beautiful sea views, good facilities including showers, wifi and electricity, and all for $10. A great site I recommend to anyone else passing through. As it was an early finish to avoid the afternoon wind I did some much needed washing, had some time on the internet, and of course had lots to eat washed down with plenty of tea.

Set up at the Anchor Bay Campground
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 436 miles (702 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0