Anchor Bay to Fort Bragg - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

April 20, 2012

Anchor Bay to Fort Bragg

After a not very good night's sleep on a very hard surface I awoke to a beautiful clear morning and was on the road just after 7, after my usual breakfast of porridge oats with soya milk on top (not turned into porridge), washed down with a cup of tea.

Before long a thick sea mist had rolled in, putting a chill in the air, and needing the lights and hi-vis again. When I passed under some trees it seemed like it was raining, but only under the trees. I soon worked out that it was the mist forming into droplets on the leaves and falling. This must be what I thought was rain the other night. With the mist came a strong wind, or should I say a strong headwind, but it didn't spoil another great days cycling. It seems as I am travelling north that the hills are becoming less steep, or maybe I am just getting into better shape.

A typical view of the coastline on this stretch.
Heart 3 Comment 0
There are lots of these signs on the low ground.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Between Mendocino and Fort Bragg (not to be confused with the huge place in North Carolina of the same name) the traffic got noticeably busier, with lots of weekend traffic. Just North of Fort Bragg is The MacKerricher State Park Campground, with a hiker / biker site for $5 a night, which is where I will stay for 2 nights as I need some things in Fort Bragg, including a haircut (in the words of George Thorogood - get a haircut and get a real job, clean your act up and don't be a slob), do some bike maintenance and give my legs a chance to rest ready for the Leggett Hill on Sunday.

Pacific sunset at Laguna Point.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 495 miles (797 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0