Antigonish to Pictou - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

October 1, 2012

Antigonish to Pictou

What a difference the weather makes. Or to be precise, what a difference a dry day makes. I left Margaret and Hugh's B&B with a full stomach after a breakfast fit for a king, having had a great nights sleep. At $50 it was only slightly more expensive than a Southern Ontario campsite, and on a wet September evening far more welcome. I made my way to the coast, enjoying being off the highway, with good views and weather to match, before heading to New Glasgow, an uninspiring town where I had lunch.

Home for the night last night.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lighthouse at Arisaig with a lobster wind vane.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Riding through Pictou I saw the twin masts of an old sailing ship, so made a swift diversion and found "Hector". I was in a rush whilst the weather was still dry to get to a campsite and dry everything out after Saturday nights soaking, so I plan to return tomorrow morning and look at the ship properly.

Birds on rocks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Birds on piles.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At the Harbour Light Campground the owner was so impressed that I was still sleeping in a tent in October that he didn't charge me. I also managed to dry everything out in the strong breeze in preperation for tonights rain.

All set up for the night. The sharp eyed will notice that it's curry for dinner again!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 8,400 miles (13,518 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0