Anacortes to Lopez Island - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2012

Anacortes to Lopez Island

After a collective breakfast and lazy unrushed pack up (something I can do in my sleep now), I went to catch another ferry - a real highlight as I love travelling by boat, this time to Lopez, the first of the San Juan Islands on the trip. Calm seas and blue skies made a very scenic crossing for the packed ferry, which had about 30 bikes on board.

On the ferry
Heart 2 Comment 0

After the crossing of about an hour it was straight to Lopez village where there was also a craft market. After wandering around, having some lunch and buying some groceries it was off to the Spencer Spit Campground, via the Laundromat - a much needed trip.

It's so cool here that the goats have flowers on their horns.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I set up in a shaded hiker biker site, cleaned my bike and did some maintenance. Having eaten I walked down to the beach, and then saw past the one hiker biker site by the waters edge that was already taken were about 8 more sites, with one free. After deliberating for about 2 seconds I rushed back up to the trees, packed everything away in record time, and returned to the waters edge to set up again. When I finally drifted off to sleep, it was with the sound of the water lapping against the shore.

View from the campsite.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 13 miles (21 km)
Total: 1,479 miles (2,380 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0