Rain, rain go away - The Adventures of Garfield and Tango - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2021

Rain, rain go away

Hell's Gate State Park to Lewiston - take 2

When I got up at 5 am this morning, I thought I would wake up to rain, but there was no rain and it was already in the 60's. But rain is predicted for later.

Since we didn't have much to do, I suggested to Don that we go over to Clarkston to their farmer's market and look at an orchard that had a farm stand. He was up for that and umbrellas in hand , we drove over to see what goodies we could find.

The farmer's market only had  few stands today, probably due to the forecast, but we did find an assortment of produce and fruit that we hadn't seen in the stores. Some of the items we purchased were Armenian cucumbers, tiny pears and plums along with several varieties of fingerling potatoes that were grown by the seller who lived in Idaho. We finally found our Idaho potatoes!

Next we continued over to see what Hagen's Orchard had for sale in their farm stand. We ended up buying apples, pears and 2 varieties of peaches that were HUGE! They all looked great and we'll enjoy them on our trip.

From there we decided to drive around Clarkston and Lewiston to investigate some potential future bike routes, along with looking at other RV parks along the Snake. 

Since it still hadn't started raining and with the sky actually looking like it maybe was just going to be cloudy today, I told Don I wanted to get in one last ride on my bike. 

He did check the radar for me and saw that rain was supposed to start around 12-1 pm. I was pretty determined to get in some exercise today since tomorrow we'll be driving to our next campsite, so I was on the trail before noon. As a concession to the possible rain, I did wear my rain jacket.

I headed north out of the state park along the river trail. But I hadn't been out for more than 30 minutes when it started to sprinkle. There was also a strong headwind which didn't help matters.

At first the rain wasn't much but then it began drizzling harder with the wind blowing the drops into my face. I had hoped to get further, but by the time I had done 5 miles, I called it good. There was a covered area at the Lewis & Clark interpretive center, so I took cover there to eat a protein bar and put away my camera/MP3 player and speaker. 

Returning south I now had a nice tailwind, although my leggings and gloves were getting soaked. Oh well, at least half of me was dry! 

I saw that the fishermen were still out on the water. I guess it doesn't matter if they're sitting on the water or having it fall from the sky. They were probably hoping for one of those giant sized Steelhead that swim in these rivers. 

I made it back to camp by 1:00 and quickly put my bike under a tree where it was drier. It felt great to get inside the warm trailer! Don had even turned up the furnace and heated up some water for tea. What a guy! 

It continued to drizzle until nearly 3 which is exactly what the weather man said would happen. Now there's even some blue sky! 

Tomorrow we break camp and drive to Boise where we have reservations at the KOA.

The fishermen didn't seem bothered by the rain. Apparently there are HUGE - several feet long - Steehead that swim in these waters. That large rock promentory just ahead of and to the right of boat is Swallow's Rock.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 813 miles (1,308 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0