Racing the rain - The Adventures of Garfield and Tango - CycleBlaze

October 5, 2021

Racing the rain

Springville to Spanish Fork loop, Take 2

This morning started extra early for me when I woke up at 3 am and couldn't get back to sleep. Why, you might ask? Who knows. Maybe I was anxious about getting another shot today. 

I do know that my brain started firing and I couldn't get back to sleep, so I finally gave it in and got up. I haven't been able to sleep in later since before Covid. Of course, Don never has a problem! He didn't wake up until 7!

After breakfast and doing our computer work, it was time to drive to the Payson Walgreens again where we both had appointments to get our flu shots. Although it was a little busy today with several people getting vaccinated for flu or Covid, once it was our turns, it was pretty quick. The pharmacist mentioned that it was a good thing we were doing this now since by November, Walgreens would be charging for these vaccines. 

Vaxed up for this year, we stopped at a nearby farm stand on the way home to pick up some more of their sweet corn and monster bell peppers.

With no time to fool around when we returned to camp, we quickly changed into bike clothes and headed out for a quick ride. The goal was to be finished before the predicted rain that was supposed to start around 2 pm. 

Don said he wanted the do the same ride we had done yesterday, but in reverse. That was fine with me as you often see different things from the opposite direction. I was just happy to get some exercise since tomorrow will be a travel day.

So we turned south and then went west of the interstate back out into the country. It was warm out, but cloudy and we could see thunderclouds building behind the mountains. There was also a SW wind which was either in our faces or at our sides, depending on the roads we took. 

I thought we would get lost trying to do this route in reverse, especially when I had thrown away my turn notes from yesterday. But Don said he remembered where to go. So I just sat back and pedaled, enjoying the country views.

One thing we noticed this time were route arrows painted on the pavement of several roads we were took. They were the same as the ones I had seen along the railroad road the other day. It seemed like the organized bike ride went this direction. 

We zoomed along, making good time as Don was on a mission to get back before getting wet. I had to eat my protein bar while on the bike since he didn't want to stop for lunch. That's no problem on a recumbent tandem since I have free hands!

By 1 pm, we were back at the KOA and congratulating ourselves that we'd beat the rain AND hadn't got lost for once!

After we parked the bikes under their rain cover, the next job was to pack up the rest of the things that were still outside. We had just stowed the final item away in the truck when it started sprinkling. Good timing!

We both changed clothes and then headed out to do some grocery shopping before leaving tomorrow. I wanted to stop by Sam's Club in Provo first where we picked up some items and got the truck gassed up. The cost was cheaper here than near the campground.

Next we went to Walmart for the rest of the items on my list. Normally we wouldn't do this kind of shopping before a travel day, but we're going to a campground at Bruce Canyon NP for a few days and won't be near any large grocery stores. So it's best to stock up now.

By the time we got home, it was after 4 pm and we were both exhausted from our day's activities. Whew! Can't believe we fit it all in!

Since Don had packed up the grill, dinner was microwave - fresh rotisserie chicken, broccoli, carrots and the last of our Idaho fingerling potatoes. I was so tired that I went to bed early. Maybe I'll be able to sleep in tomorrow!

This old farmhouse was being restored. Check out the interesting brick detail above the second story window. It will be a nice home when it's completed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We saw this fence line on one pasture that had these rubber rings cut from tires hanging on the posts every so often. There weren't any animals in the field and we couldn't figure out why someone would do that. Very strange!
Heart 0 Comment 0
We've passed this field of pumpkins several times on our rides and wondered when it would be harvested. I guess now! Those workers have a lot of ground to cover.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One punkin', 2 punkin', 3 punkin' 4!! Those workers were THROWING the pumpkins up to the guy in the truck!
Heart 0 Comment 0
An adjoining field had ripe watermelon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was a large indoor tennis and pickleball facility near the KOA. We've never played pickleball but know it's popular with seniors.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 616 miles (991 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Maureen HollandHi Don and Marilyn,
We are so glad you were able to get your vaccines. We too have had our flu shot and are waiting for Moderna to get their booster shot approved.
Lots of dancing lately and am feeling it in new places. Turns out I have bursitis. A round of anti inflamatories should do the trick. We are going to walk and have lunch with Ed and Helen next week. She is progressing well from her knee replacement, but not dancing quite yet. I think Mike and Teresa are off on another road trip. Alan (of Alan and Carol) had a bad bike fall, and although he did not break his hip, he is very sore and not dancing for awhile. We are doing quite a bit with Ted and Debbie and go to Heather Gardens about every 2 weeks to see them. Well, Jim is antsy to take Bailey for a walk. Safe travels.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettTo Maureen HollandHi Maureen - Sorry about your bursitis but glad you are getting lots of dancing in. We'll be out of shape for that by the time we get home unless we find some places to go down the road. Thanks for the update on everyone but I thought Alan rode a trike?? That's kind of hard to fall off of!. When you get a chance, send me a regular e-mail so I can update my contacts on my new computer. Have fun!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago