Castres to Albi - Poking Around Europe 8.0 - CycleBlaze

October 6, 2023

Castres to Albi

Birthday Ride

Heart 0 Comment 0


Every day is different bike touring and that is part of the appeal I think. There are always surprises and sometimes challenges. Today was not a challenging day, but it was a brilliant one. 

Breakfast was good at the Hotel Renaissance. The people there were so welcoming and helpful. It was right in the heart of the old town and perfectly situated for both walking convenience and quiet. We headed out and wanted to buy a sandwich for lunch. It was market day in the square. Great luck. I got a kick out of it when I glanced at my phone and discovered we had gone exactly half a km at 2.5 kph in a half hour. We had a gourmet picnic in the bag though, so it was time well spent. 

Yum. Today’s lunch was going to be a good one.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Unfortunately this would have been awkward to carry.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We met this cyclist who had started in Belgium.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The ride out of Castres was on an incredible bike path. We felt like we were in the country while still in the city.  There were walkers, people with their dogs, bikes, lovers on benches, moms with strollers, everything France. Then before we knew it, we were out of the city, and we had the path all to ourselves. It was an excellent natural surface and at this point it was also a gentle downhill grade which made me feel like I was flying. The CN had told me we would be on a bike route all the way to Albi, but I hadn’t realized it was a rail trail, and it was just fantastic. 

Leaving the city.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There were beautiful vistas.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Even water available, plus there were frequent benches and picnic tables and markers every km.
Heart 5 Comment 3
David MathersCool sunglasses 🕶️
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Anne MathersWay cool sunglasses, Kathleen!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Kathleen ClassenI love them. I think Keith is still in the fence though hehe.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sunflowers ready to be harvested.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

 It was getting ready to be a hot day and it was lovely riding in the shade. By kilometre 10 it was 24° with a forecast high of 29°C.  I can’t remember at what point we decided to get out the headphones and plug in the tunes but what a joyous thing that can be. Not something we would consider on the road, but on this glorious trail it added another dimension. I laughed to myself as I had the thought that I felt like I was riding in one of Rachael’s videos. 

Anyone have any idea what this is?
Heart 3 Comment 3
Rich FrasierIt’s a pigeonnnier! In the old days, only the nobility could have them. They’re elevated like that to make it easier to harvest the droppings. For fertilizer.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Anne MathersThat’s a really nice one, with a fancy turret.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Kathleen ClassenThanks so much Rich! Oddly it reminded me of wooden houses in Cambodia that we saw.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
The surface was perfect the whole way. We did arrive in Albi very dusty!
Heart 3 Comment 0
I like to imagine people’s lives in these houses.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Typical underpass on the trail.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Look at that sky!
Heart 2 Comment 0
My new shades!!! I love them. Perhaps I should act my age, but where is the fun in that?
Heart 6 Comment 5
ann and steve maher-wearyWhat a winning smile on the birthday gal! What a way to spend your special day!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Rachael AndersonI agree with you about not acting your age!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Kathleen ClassenTo ann and steve maher-wearyI was feeling so happy as Keith took that picture.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Rachael AndersonOne of the things I find fascinating about aging is that while I am 71, I still feel like I am 30. Then I look in the mirror 😂. I love those sunnies but they will be exclusively for the bike!!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jacquie GaudetYou look great in those sunglasses!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

 We stopped for a lingering lunch today and admired the beautiful, rolling countryside. It was nicely flattened out for us by the rail trail.   The end of the trail became a bit goofy, but we had been warned by Komoot that there was a bit of single track. 

I am wondering about the way ahead here!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Patrick ParnoThat's the message I am wary of "single track ahead". Oh no, Komoot, don't do it!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Keith ClassenTo Patrick ParnoWe could see in this instance that it was only for a few hundred meters so we were okay. In the past Komoot has tried to steer us to a goat path from a perfectly good bike path so we are wary.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
It was just fine. When we popped out at the top there was a sound check for a charity event happening in that large building.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The group is called Loup Malevil and they were really good. A little bit country, a little bit rock and roll. We enjoyed this surprise and watched the set up for the event while we listened to them perform. 

Excellent music.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Anne MathersA little bit country, a little bit rock and roll…. Just like the voie verte today 😆.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Kathleen ClassenYou are so right!!!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

Then we were in Albi and the CN led us straight to the hotel. We felt fresh as daisies after such an easy ride but we were dusty as could be. It really was a fun ride to just spin along and enjoy. 

Albi isn’t just about ancient architecture.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Anne MathersWhat a cool shot!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Kathleen ClassenIt made me think about home. People in Victoria would be calling for the smelling salts if something like this were proposed. Instead we build boring rectangular boxes.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

We went for a walk before dinner and it is such a beautiful place. My birthday dinner was lovely and we have all day tomorrow to explore. 

The cathedral is massive.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

A story to complete a great day. Keith and I were returning from dinner and needed to use a code to get in the night entrance. This was an important little detail that he had completely forgotten about, but don’t worry, I was on it. We are now both in bed and just heard banging on the night entrance. Some poor elderly guy had also missed the memo and was locked out. A growing crowd of young people were trying to help. Keith stuck his head out the window, said he would come down and did his good deed for the day. The gentleman was very grateful, and I told Keith that hotels with this system should stamp the code on the back of men’s hands. Keith said the poor man was quite shaken. 

Another birthday. 71. They seem to come faster and faster. I did a lot of reflecting while riding today and a lot of counting my blessings. A shout out to so many good friends who have my back, my wonderful boys and their wonderful wives, my sisters and of course to the CN. I would follow him anywhere. I am feeling very lucky tonight. 

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 727 km (451 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 7
David MathersHappy Birthday Kathleen! Cheers 🥂 to a great day and a fabulous tour. Thanks for having us along for the ride 🚴
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Rich FrasierHappy birthday!! What a great way to celebrate!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Anne MathersHappy Birthday, kiddo! Rock on... in your flashy new shades.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Kathleen ClassenTo David MathersIt was a most wonderful birthday for sure. Rail trail riding was so unexpected for me, in this case so beautiful, and so relaxing. What a wonderful resource that voie vert is.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich. Keith is planning away next to me as I write this. I am itching to get out and explore, but being very patient, for good reason!!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Patrick O'HaraHappy b-day!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jacquie GaudetHappy belated birthday, Kathleen! What a fabulous way to spend it!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago