Unsuspecting Cyclist Camps With Gang Of Outlaws - It Can't Be THAT Unpleasant - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2023

Unsuspecting Cyclist Camps With Gang Of Outlaws

Nerstrand Big Woods State Park

If not for a dental hygiene appointment this morning, I would have started this trip yesterday.  I'm okay with waiting an extra day though.  I think it'll be nice to start a bike tour with a fresh mouth, and I told the hygienist so.

"I can't think of anything better," she agreed with a bit of a laugh.

"Not in THIS world," I added, with a bigger laugh.

Here's a picture of my hygienist's handywork. Don't worry, you'll never have look into my mouth again--at least not in this journal.
Heart 6 Comment 4
Nancy GrahamNice healthy set of teeth there Greg. Your parents apparently taught you good dental hygiene at an early age.

You somehow find very interesting things to share no matter where you ride. BTW, I really like cows too.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Rachael AndersonHey, I just went to a new dental hygienist yesterday and she was amazing. She’s been doing it for 40 years and does an amazing job! She also had some great stories. Glad to hear you are taking care of your teeth.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Nancy GrahamCows are great, but being able to chew food is even greater.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Lednar De NallohTo Gregory GarceauAnd even greater again is chewing cows
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

When I got home from the dental office, I hastily smashed everything into my panniers, dry bag, and handlebar bag, strapped on the tent, and pedaled those glorious first turns of the crank down my driveway.

I live near the very edge of the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area, so I was in the rural countryside within ten minutes.  And the countryside was my companion all day.  

The End.

************

Some folks might wish that was the end, but I do have more to report.

Within a few miles, I came upon a road closure.  I seem to be finding those things a lot in my last few tours.  I've almost gotten to the point where I ignore those signs completely, and this road blockage turned out to be one of the most ignorable.

The countryside
Heart 7 Comment 0
The scary sign
Heart 6 Comment 1
Keith AdamsThey give you plenty of advance warning, don't they?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago



G-2 and I rode right through the dirt and sand and ditches.  Out of respect, I hopped off the saddle when we came up on some workers.  The workers didn't even acknowledge me in any way.

We moved on.  The riding was excellent--except for the constant headwind all day, the 84-degree temperature, the sudden appearance of hills toward the end of the day, and the painful leg cramps while grinding up one of those hills.  Not drinking enough water was a rookie mistake.  But I'm not going to dwell on the negative.  I know heat, hills, headwinds and pain are all a natural part of this cycling business.

I pulled over at a shady spot, chugged a bunch of water, walked off the cramps, and took it very slowly for the last three miles to Nerstrand Big Woods State Park.

Here are some more pictures from my day.

Home stadium of the Hampton Cardinals amateur baseball team.
Heart 6 Comment 0
You should know how fascinated I am by cows. I've got three pictures of them for you. #1
Heart 7 Comment 0
#2
Heart 6 Comment 0
#3
Heart 8 Comment 2
Graham SmithIt’s really annoying when your bike loses a head butting contest with a smiley cow statue.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Graham SmithYes, poor Son of Bing Bong. He was no match for that big metallic bull.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 0
The Cannon River
Heart 7 Comment 0
That's me riding my bike.
Heart 8 Comment 0
With a huff and a puff, I'm sure I could blow this house down.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesIt looks like someone already tried.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 0
Not a single denizen of Dennison is visible in this picture. A little further ahead, I did see some semblance of a town though.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I was glad to make it to the state park before the cramps in my thigh started up again.  I drank more water, set up my tent and relaxed.  The gnats, bees and a few mosquitoes hardly detracted from the relaxation at all.

Heart 8 Comment 0

Legend has it that the Jesse James gang hid out in his area after they robbed the First National Bank in Northfield, MN.  Fantasy has it that those outlaws still roam the campground a century and a half later.

I didn't see Jesse James or Cole Younger or any of the other murderous thieves (thank goodness), but I think I saw a different celebrity at a nearby campsite.  With his signature hairstyle--long hair in back, bald on top--and weird braided chin beard, I could have sworn I saw Jesse "The Body" Ventura.  (No relation to Jesse James.)  Either that, or it was his chubbier doppelganger.

The idea of him being at a Minnesota state park isn't that far-fetched.  After all, he was the governor of our fine state for four years.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 41 miles (66 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 0