Cartoon Alter-Ego Barely Escapes Slimy Death - It Can't Be THAT Unpleasant - CycleBlaze

September 4, 2023

Cartoon Alter-Ego Barely Escapes Slimy Death

Northfield, MN

When I opened my eyes this morning, the first thing I saw was a small spider above me.  It was between the rainfly and the mesh on the body of the tent, and it was crawling toward the top.  I reached up and flicked the mesh and watched the spider fall about half-way down.  Then it immediately began crawling back toward the top.  I flicked it again.  It plummeted again and started back up.  Its eight little legs were on a mission.  I flicked again, it fell again.  When I tired of this strange game, I named my new friend "Sisyphus."

While conducting my coffee making ritual, I made another friend.  I had a long stare down with a tiny toad.  I couldn't think of a good name for that little guy. 

************

The first third of my day was a reversal of the second half of the second day of this tour.  In less confusing language--I was re-riding the thirteen miles of the Sakatah Singing Hills State Trail between the state park and the city of Faribault.  There isn't much reason to describe that again, except for an incident relating to G-2.

We took a short break on a bridge.  Below the bridge was a small river.  G-2 was getting hot and thought it might be a good idea to jump into the river in order to cool off.  "Go for it," I encouraged, "it looks very refreshing." 

"WOO-HOOOOO!" shouted my cartoon alter-ego as he rode off the bridge.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A couple miles later, we stopped at a beach on Cannon Lake. It took several minutes of soaking for G-2 to get all the green slime off his body. Here he is, clean as can be.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Later, I made a video especially for the bicycle touring crowd.  I like to think of it as a public service announcement regarding the importance of protecting one's eyes from the sun.

I made up my mind that I would absolutely, POSITIVELY not forget to buy a pair of cheap sunglasses once I got to Faribault.  Guess what happened.

************

I was back in new bike riding territory when I turned north out of Faribault.  First there was an interesting industrial park, then some other scenic delights.  It's time to show pictures.

WHAT THE . . . !
Heart 4 Comment 0
By the way, I DID remember to buy sunglasses in Faribault. I found them in the fishing & hunting department at Walmart, so they were definitely cheap. Quite stylish too. And I can feel my eyes opening wider by the mile.
Heart 7 Comment 4
Scott AndersonNice! A great color on you, matches your goatee.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonClose, but remember that I am a color expert. Beige is not the same as gray.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Suzanne GibsonThe color of the frame looks like what we - ethnocentrically - called "skin color" in our crayon box. Doesn't quite match your tanned face, though.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonI remember the color in my crayon box being called "Flesh." Still a pretty ethnocentric name, though.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Highway 3 had a much improved shoulder. As a bonus, I saw a nice blue mini-lake.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A white duck hanging out with other ducks.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Here's a wider view of the Cannon River in Northfield.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I used the reflective quality of a window to show me on Son of Bingbong.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Remember on day one of this tour when I wrote the National Enquirer-like headline about camping with the outlaw Jesse James and his gang.  I wrote about how he and his brother and Cole Younger hid out in the Nerstrand Big Woods area after their botched bank robbery in Northfield.  (Dubiously depicted in the famous movie The Great Northfield Minnesota Raid, starring such big names as Cliff Robertson and Robert Duval.) 

This is the actual First National Bank that they tried, but failed, to rob. It probably looks a little different now than it did before Merchant's Bank bought it.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I didn't notice the temperature on the bank's sign until I posted it here.  I knew it was getting pretty hot out there, but I didn't think it was THAT hot.  All I can say is that I'm glad there wasn't as much humidity as we usually get around here with such heat.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 266 miles (428 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Scott AndersonSo when you coming’ back, Red Ryder? To YOUR town, I mean. Curious minds want to know.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltThought about re-doing the lyrics for itsy bitsy spider... went up the... couldn't figure a good line so quit after a couple minutes. Might be something to contemplate on those long plain flat rides.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Halûk OkurThe famous Turkish writer, Aziz Nesin, has also a short story where he named a spider, which insistently tries to climb up the sidewall of the bathtub and slides back, as Sisyphus.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Halûk OkurI need to find that short story, because it really does sound so similar. Thanks for telling me about it.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Halûk OkurTo Gregory GarceauHi Greg, I've found the story and let ChatGPT translate it into English.

How can I send it to you? Posting here as a comment would be inappropriate I think.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Halûk OkurThank you, Haluk. You can email it to clickorama@embarqmail.com
Reply to this comment
8 months ago