To Sukhothai: It's supposed to be EZ. - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

November 4, 2016

To Sukhothai: It's supposed to be EZ.

Last night I asked to settle my bill so that I could get an early start. Mr. Charron, the owner of the guesthouse, asked me if I wanted breakfast. I said I hoped to get an early start, and did not expect him to be up. Hs said he is up early, so it's not a problem. I reiterated that I want to leave about 6 am, so would need breakfast at 5:45. He laughed and said that Thai people don't get up that early. If I want an early breakfast it would be at 9 or 10. So no breakfast. We settled the bill, and he asked where I was going next. I told him Sukhothai, and he replied that it would be easy. I said that nothing is easy in the heat, and that's why I'm leaving so early. And he said "but it's only 80 km, that's easy." Easy for him to say.

So I left at about 10 past 6. It was just getting light out, and traffic was not bad. I rode out past the ruins at the historical park, and had a final look at them from the road. I had decided to ride the 101 highway today, instead of the smaller road, to save about 10 km of riding. The 101 turned out to be mostly 2 lane highway with a good shoulder, and pleasant riding.

The 101 highway I took the whole way from Kampheang Phet to Sukhothai.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The scenery has been slowly shifting, and there were a few rolling hills.

Today's landscape.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More scenery.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There is a lot less development here compared with what I saw further south, and the homes are more often the traditional style.

I'm seeing more traditional houses.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There are also a lot fewer roadside stalls selling food.

I didn't pass as many wats today. There was one large about 10 miles before Sukhothai.

Not too many wats or buddhas today. This one approaching Sukhothai seemed especially well-kept.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped at a 7-Eleven, that was in what we would call a travel plaza. There were a few shops and restaurants, and....drum roll...a tourist information office. I went to the tourist office and asked about accommodation. I was told to just look for it. Then they showed me an interactive map of the region. Push here to start, then select what you're interested in (e.g. recreation) and so on. Except it was only in Thai. And then a group of men in suits showed up. They handed me a bag of rice (uncooked) and lined up with me and started taking photographs. Everyone's phone came out, except mine, and they kept snapping away. I was trying to be polite, but roasting in the sun and anxious to get into the 7-Eleven to cool off. It turned out that these men were businessmen behind a locally grown rice initiative. They tried to sell me a sack of rice, and I had a hard time making them understand that carrying it on my bike was just not reasonable. I escaped, but skipped the 7-Eleven.

I stopped for an iced coffee about 3 miles before the city, and cooled off in the AC. The barista gave me my coffee drink, and then a glass of ice water that also had coffee in it. I didn't quite understand, but appreciated the extra drink.

In Sukothai, I spotted a real Thai tourist office. I picked up a map of the area, and also one of all of Thailand. They said the guesthouse next door was okay, and I should look at it and then at another one down the street. I looked at the first one and took the room. It's the EZ House. My room is on the second floor and quite small with a twin size bed. But it's fairly new and well maintained. My bike is in the reception area on the ground floor, and I think is safe. The room is 350 baht, with a 300 baht key deposit. The owner said I should wake him by calling "hello" near his door to get the deposit back with an early departure.

I should note that I'm in New Sukhothai. I'm not up for a ride to the historical park this afternoon, so I'll pass by it tomorrow.

I did walk around a bit and get something to eat. This is quite a tourist spot, and there are a few restaurants with Trip Advisor ratings. I ate at the Poo Restaurant. I find the name a little comical, but it was a really good meal.

Ginger pork and heart-shaped rice at Poo restaurant in Sukhothai. I asked for "not spicy" and got just the right amount of spicy. Delicious! Followed up with a watermelon slushy.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I picked up some things for breakfast in my room, and tried to find a drinking water machine. This is the first place on this trip where I couldn't find one. When I asked, people looked at me like I'm crazy. Maybe because its s tourist town, they expect people to buy bottles of water. I'd rather not generate the plastic waste, and would pour it into my own bottle anyhow because it fits into the bottle cage on my bike. In the end, the woman in the coffee shop that's attached to the guesthouse filled my bottle with boiling water. The sterilization from the heat can't hurt.

I have a bit of a heat rash on the top of my thighs. At least that's what I think it is. It's under where my shorts are, so I don't think its from the sun. I suppose it could be related to the laundry soap I used in Kampheang Phet.

I have a couple of shorter days ahead of me, so I hope it will be easy.

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 455 km (283 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0