Rest day in Kamphaeng Phet: A visit to the historical park - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

November 3, 2016

Rest day in Kamphaeng Phet: A visit to the historical park

Today was a much needed rest day. I slept late, until 6 am, and ate breakfast at the guest house. I had an omelet with bacon, some toast and jam and a bit of fruit. It supplied some much needed protein, and hit the spot. At 100 baht plus 20 for coffee, to the best of my recollection it is the most expensive meal that I've had in Thailand! But oh so worth it.

Then I went off by bike to visit the historical park. Kamphaeng Phet is part of the 13th - 16th century Thai kingdom that is perhaps better known for the ruins at Ayutthaya and Sukothai. It is a UNESCO heritage site, and I'm glad I took the time to look around. There were QR codes available at some of the sites to get an explanation in various languages. I have not gotten a SIM card, so I didn't have data access. Had I known before hand, I may have gotten one.

I started on this side of the river, impressed with the ruins. The signs describe them as made from laterite, which look a lot like old bricks. Wikipedia describes it as an iron and aluminum rich stone.

The ruins on the city side of the river. The brick-like construction is laterite.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn't see anyone else at all at the ruins. I tried to use my little tripod and get an action shot on my bike. I think I need some more practice setting it up.

Selfie in Khampheang Phet
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I rode to the other section on the other side of the river.

The park is especially green!
Heart 0 Comment 0

That area is quite wooded and beautiful, and I felt like I was all by myself in a unique spot in the world.

In the historical park
Heart 0 Comment 0
The nooks and crannies have buddhas.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I should note that admission is free right now, in honor of the late King. That was true in Ayutthaya as well.

Thank you.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a couple of hours exploring the park, I headed back to the guesthouse to cool off, relax, and plan for tomorrow.

Random pictures:

I'm a tourist, and I was happy there was a toilet, but it was a traditional Thai toilet in every sense. I'm not sure that makes it a "Happy tourist toilet". And if you're not sure what I mean, google "how to use a Thai toilet". It's not just about squatting!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Road cyclists at bike shop in Kampheang Phet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another bike shop. Fat tires have reached Thailand.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Next door neighbors at the guest house.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My room at Three J's Guesthouse. Not all of the hotel rooms are this...decorated.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And the bathroom.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 12 km (7 miles)
Total: 375 km (233 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0