To Rayong: Enough with the beaches, into the city - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

January 15, 2017

To Rayong: Enough with the beaches, into the city

I left the hotel early, before the office opened. I did spend some time online, outside the office where the Wi-Fi signal was a better, planning out my day and booking a room in Rayong for tonight.

There were a few people on the beach this morning, not very many, and the restaurants were not yet set up, so it was quiet as I left town. After the big block of hotels and restaurants, there was a gap, and then individual resorts starting popping up. I could probably have found a better place yesterday if I had kept riding. I had decided that, after a few nights near but not at a beach, I wanted to be on the beach. It was probably a bad day to take that approach. Tonight I've thrown it to the wind, and booked a place in Rayong, close to the city, not to the beach.

I pulled up away from the water fairly early on today's ride, trying to find the small local roads rather than the beachfront roads that were lined with resorts and had lots of tourist traffic.

"Happiness Land you can touch"
Heart 0 Comment 0
A temple, leaving Mae Phim Beach.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A big Buddha at the temple.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've seen a few of these homes or biildings made out of shipping containers. This one was still under construction. I'm not sure what the plumbing status is. If you zoom in you can see a guy headed out of the building. He went to the trees to take a leak.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Buddha and deer.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Xxx

I counted 33 large tour buses at the Ban Phe ferry dock. The ferry goes to Koh Samet. There were also minibuses and songthiews parked.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cows by the roadside again. It's rural, but approaching the city.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beginning of Rayong Beach.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some Thai roadies saw me taking pictures, and offered to help take one of me.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Then they got into the picture.
Heart 1 Comment 0
And the photographer grabbed a selfie. I especially liked his jersey.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Rayong city at Preechana Golden Place Serviced Apartment. 470 baht/night. Seventh floor, bike in room, very comfortable and quiet. Small convenience store on site and also a washing machine.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 2,704 km (1,679 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0