Around Bangkok: Getting ready to fly home - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

January 27, 2017

Around Bangkok: Getting ready to fly home

Two full days in Bangkok. On Friday I packed up my bike. I'm happy to say that packing it is becoming easier with more experience, and I didn't have any real issues. I put both my front and rear rack into my duffel bag, but didn't make any real effort to get either one into the bike case.

Saturday I went off to the weekend market, Chatuchak Market, with Marta and Anne. Marta is a Polish cyclist, but had injured her knee in a bike wreck, had been backpacking since the injury instead of cycling, and was headed home to Poland for surgery. I hope it goes well. Anne is from Germany, and has ridden through the 'Stans, with some interesting stories including traveling as a man through Mongolia. Her blog is http://annewestwards.com/ and is worth a look. Marta had figured out the transportation options through Bangkok, and led us by foot to the boat dock for a ride on the river ferry to the BTS station where we caught a train to the market.

The market is huge! And crowded. I had an idea that I wanted some souvenirs and gifts, but was so overwhelmed that I didn't buy anything. We escaped the madness into the nearby park, and then headed to Lumphini Park by subway. It was the Chinese New Year, and we had heard that the celebration was in Lumphini Park. It turned out that there was an event going on there, but it was a big tourism expo not related to the New Year. It was not too surprising that it was a madhouse there as well, but it was fun to wander through and see the exhibits for different regions of Thailand and to remember my visits to each of them.

The tourist expo, a mob scene.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the tourist expo, a loaded bike with a blender attachment to make smoothies.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Marta had been in touch with a couple of the guys at the hostel, and they met us at the park, but were anxious to find the New Years Celebration. They were on bike, so we made plans to meet them in China Town. We took the MRT to the main train station. From there, Marta and Anne went to meet the guys in Chinma Town, and I bowed out and took a taxi back to the hostel. The crush of people had worn me out!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0