Back to Bangkok: By train - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

January 26, 2017

Back to Bangkok: By train

And back at Granny's.

I caught the early train to Bangkok. It left at 7:15, so I left for the train station at 6:15, and it was still dark. The train station was less than 2 km away, but I wasn't sure exactly where it was and how to get there. Needless to say, I was early and had to wait to buy my ticket.

Waiting for the train at dawn.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another bike tourist showed up while I was waiting, a Japanese guy, with no racks or panniers, just a messenger bag. He had ridden the 160 km from Bangkok yesterday, and was taking the train back today. He used to live in Thailand but now is touring, heading to Myanmar tomorrow, with more luggage.

We got on and off the train without too much difficulty. It's nice when there is someone to help!

Bikes on the train. Mine in the back, with the handlebars rotated, the Japanese guy's in front with the wheel removed.
Heart 0 Comment 0

He was interested in the idea of a hostel for bike tourists and came with me back to Granny's, but just took a look around and went back to the hostel where he had his luggage stored.

I was back fairly early, and grabbed some food at the morning market that is near the hostel. I showered and did laundry, and looked after chores. Nothing too exciting.

Today's ride: 6 km (4 miles)
Total: 2,937 km (1,824 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0