To Tienen - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2022

To Tienen

Yesterday’s experience cycling into the northerly winds left me a little concerned about today’s ride –sixty-three miles north to Tienen under similar wind conditions as yesterday. I got an early start, leaving Givet at eight-thirty. After passing through town, the route skirted the river on small roads and bike trails, and by the time I’d made it back to the Meuse River I was in Belgium – no welcome sign, just a notification from my data plan that I’d left France.

 Despite my trepidation, it was a magnificent morning ride. The river continued to widen, sweeping past high bluffs with rock outcroppings. The air was crisp and the leaves were turning – Autumn is Coming! After ten miles, I faced my first river crossing – a little wary as the signs directed me onto a canal bridge. It was the kind that swings open when a boat passes, sort of a horizontal draw bridge. While I was finding my will to cross, a large group of cyclists approached from the opposite side. The two lead riders bounced onto the draw bridge and crossed without a moment’s hesitation. Others dismounted and calmly walked across. I chose option B, crossed without incident, and was once again on my way.

Leaving Givet, decorated in colorful streamers rather than the more common umbrellas or lamp shades
Heart 8 Comment 0
Still on the Meuse River, but now in Belgium. At least that's what LeFrench Mobile told me.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Along the Meuse River
Heart 5 Comment 0
It's beginning to look like Autum
Heart 5 Comment 0
The bike sign indicated this was my canal crossing
Heart 6 Comment 0
Boldly crossing where Susan does not dare....or does she?
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is more my style
Heart 3 Comment 1
Mike AylingThat "swing bridge" looks like a pair of lock gates.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

The next five miles were the best of the day, hugging the river on a wide. well-surfaced road with little traffic. The wind was tolerable, the views splendid and I sped along entertained by fishers, water skiers, and small cruise boats. I came to another canal bridge crossing and didn’t hesitate. Within seconds after crossing, however, there was long, slow creak as the bridge opened. There was no boat in the locks, or anywhere nearby – it seemed to be a random event, perhaps reminding me that a little caution is always a good thing.

Flying along the Meuse River
Heart 4 Comment 0
Along the Meuse River
Heart 4 Comment 0
A random opening of the horizontal draw bridge - just after I'd made it across
Heart 4 Comment 1
Suzanne GibsonI hope there is a signal before they start opening the gates!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Shortly after crossing the river I rolled into the town of Dinant. It was a hive of activity and color, a bit of sensory overload. I made my way along the quai and across the river, which was adorned with billowing flags and giant saxophones - an homage to Aldophe Sax, the inventor of the saxophone who was born in Dinant. The atmosphere was exciting and inviting, and the city was certainly worth a longer look; however, I had many more miles to Tienen. Somewhat reluctantly, I got back on Vivien George and headed north.

Along the Meuse River, near Dinant
Heart 3 Comment 0
Approaching Dinant
Heart 7 Comment 1
Dinant
Heart 3 Comment 0
Saxophones and flags in Dinant
Heart 6 Comment 1
Three of the saxophones on the Pont Charles de Gaulle in Dinant
Heart 4 Comment 0
Dinant
Heart 7 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI definitely want to go to Dinant sometime. Looks like a great place to spend the night!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dinant
Heart 6 Comment 0
Dinant
Heart 6 Comment 0

Continuing north, I made my way to and through Namur and then left the Meuse River for the final twenty-five miles to Tienen. The route followed a converted rail line, with a long gentle climb through woodlands. It was the perfect route on a windy day, though my views of the Belgium countryside were limited. As befitting a county of cyclists, scores of folks were out enjoying the day and taking advantage of an extensive network of cycling roads and bike paths.

I reached Tienen a little past four and retreated to my room for some washing up and a little rest before a fine swordfish dinner at the hotel restaurant. Then it was off to bed – I wanted to be fresh to greet Eddy and Ria who were meeting me at the hotel for a morning coffee.

On the way to Namur
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Namur
Heart 7 Comment 0
Sheltered from the wind, but no views
Heart 2 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonToo bad it has to be one or the other!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A bit of the Belgium countryside on the way to Tienen
Heart 3 Comment 0
Green farm cart in a field
Heart 1 Comment 0
Church of Our Lady of the Poel, Tienen
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 2,437 miles (3,922 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 0