To Pouilly-en-Auxois - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2022

To Pouilly-en-Auxois

Today’s adventures began with an morning exploration of Dijon, the capital of Bourgogne and a city with a rich history and diverse architectural styles. It was a short and somewhat whirlwind tour of a small section of the old town, filled with ornate cathedrals, grand palaces, expansive courtyards, and timbered houses. While out and about, I ran into Scott with his camera pointing at some interesting cupola – be sure to see his entry for another viewpoint of this visually and culturally rich city.

Before going back to the hotel, I stopped by a bakery and cheese shop to pick up some provisions for the road. As I was packing up my panniers I realized I’d didn’t have my camera. Hoping that I’d left it at one of the two stops, I finished packing, checked out, and raced across the cobbles – first to the cheese shop, and then to the bakery, a bit farther away. It was not at the cheese shop and while disappointed, I reasoned it was most likely at the bakery, thinking I might have laid it on the counter as I was juggling a sack of mini-gougères, a sandwich, and my wallet - and the camera. There was a line of customers when I arrived at the bakery and I waited patiently but anxiously until it was my turn. I’d just started to ask about my camera when the woman behind the counter said “Photo” and my camera appeared in her hand. Hooray!! I was so happy the camera had not gone the way of my pocket knife.  I made it back to the hotel in plenty of time – we all set out together as soon as the bikes were released from the storage room.

In Dijon

In Dijon, approaching Église Notre-Dame de Dijon
Heart 2 Comment 0
Église Notre-Dame de Dijon
Heart 4 Comment 0
Église Notre-Dame de Dijon
Heart 3 Comment 0
Église Notre-Dame de Dijon
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Philippe le Bon, the Duke of Burgundy
Heart 3 Comment 0
At the gates of the Palais de Ducs et des États de Bourgogne
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Place de la Libération
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
My two bakery angels
Heart 6 Comment 0

The cycling portion of the day was spent riding alongside the Canal de Bourgogne, a 150 mile long waterway that connects the basins of the Seine and Rhône rivers. It was a pleasant day, a bit overcast and not too hot, and the cycling was easy if a bit one-note. I did have a minor mishap when I pulled off the trail for a photo op and stepped into a large depression – gracefully (I hope though there were no witnesses) executing a slow roll half-way down the embankment into a pile of nettles. The gang came by to offer assistance in getting Vivien George upright - she thankfully came through the experience with all parts functioning normally, though Vincent was not too happy. As for me, I was just fine – except for the stings of a thousand nettles that raced up and down my arms and legs. Just a little annoyance on another fine day.

On the Canal de Bourgogne

Heading out on the canal
Heart 6 Comment 0
A happy Janos
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 2
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonThanks Rachael
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I don't often think of France as being a handicap-friendly place, but the canal bikeway provides great wheelchair access for avid fishermen
Heart 6 Comment 0
Brief stop for elevenses - though due to our late start it was already noon
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not sure if a thousand nettles was worth this shot
Heart 5 Comment 1
Scott AndersonEasily, but once is enough.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael rounds the bend in the lead
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here comes Scott
Heart 1 Comment 0
Janos and Suzanne rounding a curve
Heart 1 Comment 0
And Vivien George makes five
Heart 2 Comment 0
It was Sunday and the French were out in force displaying their love of outdoor picnics
Heart 4 Comment 1
Keith AdamsI love the bonhomie on display. Cheerful greetings from strangers always give me new hope for humankind.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A spiffed up canal house
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNice gray heron picture!

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/4954-Ardea-cinerea
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 7 Comment 0
Châteauneuf Castle
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Though the ride seemed flat, we were in fact gaining elevation all day. There was a last steep section near the end, and then a wonderful ride through a lane of plane trees shortly before descending into Pouilly-en-Auxois. I’d been here before, on my 2018 tour when I even stayed in the same hotel. It was here that I lost my iPhone, which contained all my route and contact info. I was very distraught, to say the least. But thankfully, some kind soul found it on the ground and turned it into the city hall, where I retrieved it. It was yet another example of the good people who’ve been my guardian angels when I’m on the road.  I can't thank them enough.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 1,091 miles (1,756 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0