Tag 25: Munich - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2017

Tag 25: Munich

Today I was a tourist, on foot, the Trucker safe in the hotel room taking a rest.

I spend most of the day in the old town wandering around and eating Schnitzel and Strudel. One of the things you HAVE to do it Munich is see the Glockenspiel, which is a centuries old (I am not totally sure how old, I even looked on the inter-web) clock that has knights and other "animated" figures. I thought of taking a video but it was so high up I knew it wouldn't come out well. So instead I took pictures of all the people taking videos with their cell phones, which I found much more amusing.

Also amusing was the 21st century attention span. People stood around waiting for the clock to start for 30 minutes or more (It "siels" every day at 11am and 5pm). The whole "show" is over 5 minutes and I noticed about minute 4 that some people started to get bored with it. I would imagine that back in the day, centuries ago, people would have been fascinated by a cleaver mechanical contraption and never look away. Maybe that's what cell phones do?

Anyway, I thought it was pretty cool, and some people stayed through the whole thing and thought it was cool too.

After sightseeing I zipped backed to Friesing on the local trains--clean, on time, efficient and zippy. Gotta love trains in Europe!

Munich
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty traditional buildings in the city center
Heart 0 Comment 0
The famous Glockenspiel
Heart 0 Comment 0
21st century cell phone video tourists and the centuries old Glockenspiel
Heart 1 Comment 0

Video of the Glockenspiel. I didn't take the video but I knew you would want to know...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0