Tag 24 - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2017

Tag 24

Today is my last day on the Ciclovia Alpe-Adria Radweg from Grado to Salzburg, so basically my last bike "touring" day.

I'm tired so I am ready for a break but there is always a feeling at the end of a trip that is a cross between accomplishment/sad that is over/and happy that it's over, because as much as I enjoyed the trip home is home.

But today was still riding and thanks to good weather, a mostly flat route and not many miles it was a really enjoyable ride.

I rode to Salzburg through the rolling hills to the south and into town along the river. The conditions could not have been more lovely.

Once in the city I sat on the riverbank for a good long time and enjoyed the day, then got something to eat, then headed for the train station.

"I would like a one way ticket to Munich," I asked the ticket guy.

"You are American?" while processing my ticket. "You like Trump?"

Of course I don't and told him so. And since there was no line behind me we got into a long discussion, that I am fine with having, I almost feel obligated, but this time I was glad when it was over because I've been having similar discussions all month.

"Your train leaves from platform 5," he said when we finished.

The train was practically empty and zipped along through lovely countryside and in a little over an hour I was at the Munich train station.

In two days I leave so I have a hotel reservation near the airport. To simplify logistics I took the S-Bahn (local train) to the airport and tried to get an extra two nights at the same place, which I could have if I was Donald Trump and could afford the inflated last minute price, which I didn't want to do. I would have camped if there was a campground close, but there was not. So instead i got back on the Trucker and found the bike route to Freising, a little town nearby, to look for a less expensive place, which I found, but on the way discovered that the bike route goes RIGHT under the flight path of planes landing (or taking off depending on wind direction). COOOOOL!

I watched that for a while as planes from all of the world landed. They were so close I could practically see the pilots!

I really enjoyed today!

The next two days I am going to be a tourist in Munich so stay tuned. WOO-HOOO!


Last day on the Grado to Salzburg route
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey that's me!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Near Salzburg. See riders on the right.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bike path at Munich Airport. COOOOOOL!!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 1,033 miles (1,662 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0