Fin - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2017

Fin

I wish I had something insightful to say about my trip but I really don't. This trip had no "meaning" beyond adventure and fun. I had a great time and some things are especially notable:

1. The Italian car free bike routes were the best! Loved the bici cafes and all the people sitting around at noon, halfway through their ride, drinking wine. Leave it to the Italians.

2. Slovenia. I definitely want to go back and explore more of the country. The scenery was great and the people super friendly and helpful.

3. As much as I would have liked less rain, some of the night time thunderstorms were really cool. We don't usually get storms like at where I live.

4. The food was great all over. I got a hankering for espresso in Italy.

5. The Iceman museum was a cool thing to see.

I found it weird that I didn't see ANY American cyclists on this trip, not one. The closest were the Canadians, which is sort of the same. Well actually that is the same because Canadians are Americans and so are Mexicans. What I mean is the United states. Which brings up another point...

...I always make a point of saying I am from the United States when people ask. Not because I am a stickler for detail but because of what I said up above, "America" is a continent not a country. It would be like calling Germans European and then saying the Dutch are NOT European because the Germans are, or something like that. Anyway I do that, though people in Europe always seem to go with "American". Well, at least I make the effort.

And another thing.... I find it kind of rude to go up to someone in another country and just start yammering on in English, assuming they speak English, even if it is obvious they will, like if you are at a fancy international hotel or something. So I always asked, even if people might have thought I was an idiot for doing so. But one time in Slovenia a guy busted my chops for asking.

"Of course I speak English," he said.

Then I had to try and recover, "Well I feel it is polite to ask," I said, which seemed to satisfy him.

Thanks to everyone who read the journal. Also I loved all the guestbook comments. I am always surprised that people beyond my friends and family are reading it. It means a lot. It really does!

All in all it was a great trip. I am glad I went. Now I can start thinking about my next trip. Hmmmmm?

See final map below (or as accurate as I could get with map tool)

Also see picture below. I made an edit to the caption.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Mike AylingDon't worry about Neil, Karen, everybody else loves you!

Mike
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Karen CookThank you, Mike!!! :-)

It's all sad. At the same time I am excited about this site and building a new touring family.

Karen
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Kathleen ClassenI don’t know how I came to your blogs so late but I have just had the most wonderful time reading this one. I choose it because of the title. We are fellow schnitzel lovers, although we have never had it for breakfast, which is a genius idea. We have ridden many of the same places and the Claudia Augusta remains our all time favourite bike route. How I want to go back and do the Alpe Adria as well, after reading your description. And now I must go and check out more of your blogs.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Karen CookTo Kathleen ClassenHi Kathleen,

Thanks! I appreciate it. I definitely want to go back and spend more time exploring the area more. I would like to ride more in Slovenia too.

Though I could do with a little less rain next time ;-)

Karen
Reply to this comment
3 years ago