Dachau - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2017

Dachau

It feels ironic that on the day I am visiting Dachau, the first concentration camp of WWII, events at home echo the past. Riots in Virginia and an elected president who does not disavow neo-Nazis and white supremacists seem all too familiar after today's visit.

Today I read an account from a Dachau survivor living in the U.S. that, to her, what happened in Virginia feels like Germany in the 30's all over again. "It CAN happen again," she said. "I was in Germany during Kristallnacht, I know."

There are a lot of things I am not proud of about America right now. The bubbling up of racist tensions fueled by a president who seems to approve is the biggest thing.

But there is one thing I am proud of and that gives me hope. People in America ARE standing up to the forces that, in part, brought down Germany in the 30's. The press is doing it's job and our system of government checks and balances on presidential power seems to be working (fingers crossed). But mostly ordinary people are protesting, standing up, taking time and energy to say, "no, you are not going to get away with this and take over our country with hate."

Maybe people really can learn from history and prevent the mistakes of the past?


I don't know what I can write about Dachau that has not already been written. I'm glad I went.


"May the example of those who were exterminated here between 1933-1945, because they resisted nazism, help to unite the living for the defense of peace and freedom and in respect for their fellow man"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dachau
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dachau
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dachau. The foundations of the many barracks that once stood here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dachau
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dachau
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dachau
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 1,081 miles (1,740 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0