A difficult decision - Sea to Sea - CycleBlaze

A difficult decision

An AT through-hiker once wrote that one should never make a major decision about their journey at night or during foul weather.  I made this major decision two days ago under fair skies and on smooth roads, although I had been thinking about it for several days.  I have found that riding alone simply is not fun.  Rather than being a restorative activity, I found it to be mentally draining - ticking off miles to the next stopover.  So after 500+ miles in 10 days, I’m pulling the plug.  I cannot see myself continuing for another two weeks solo before my first SAG wagon joins.  I’ve demonstrated to myself that an old guy with a heart issue can withstand the physical rigor of a bicycle trek.  I think I’ll find some supported rides in various parts of the country to satisfy my urge to ride a bike in cool places.

The best part of this journey has been spending time with friends and family.  Thanks to all my followers and the many supportive comments.  Signing off.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Dexter HodgemanBob - You gave it a good go and repped us old guys quite well! No harm, no foul! Hope to see you at the Gran Fondo in Bangor on Aug 6. Planning to ride Cadillac Mtn the day prior, Aug 5.
Be well and enjoy the rides this summer!
All the best,
Dexter
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Fred BeckHi Bob, You have , and still are, an inspiration for us old codgers who haven't done or even tried to do what you have just accomplished. I agree that it would be a lot more fun with a cycling partner, particularly when the weather is so raw. If you need a ride home, give me a call. I can be in Constantableville before you know it! Fred
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Robert PealeSounds like you are making the right decision for yourself since it was not a spur of the moment decision. And it will be good to have you back here sooner! No point in pursuing something that is not either satisfying or enjoyable at our age.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janet SawyerGood for you. At this point in our lives, I think it is more important to enjoy what we are doing and to spend time with people we care about. When I had my "heart event" I quickly said to Ansley that quality is more important to me than quantity. Enjoy each moment. I am impressed with you starting this trek and impressed with you finishing when it feels appropriate.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kevin DamuthType your comment here
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kevin DamuthBob

You are an inspiration! We hope to connect with you all in the near future to visit and do some riding together. Think about coming to MT to visit and ride during early summer 2023.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Linda LaRue-KenistonI continue to admire you for your adventurous ways but also for your self awareness. Some might not be so reasonable or practical in the pursuits that fuel their being. Knowing it was no longer FUN or satisfying was a good indication that a change in plans was in order. Now for the next set of plans that will delight you. So happy that it will not be such a long stretch in sharing happy times with you!!!! You are amazing and I'm ready to celebrate the journey you did complete?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron LovaglioGod bless you Bob, It takes more courage to say when enough is enough than to press on miserably. Unless something is critical to you or family, anything else should be fun at our age. Given choices, our friend King used to say to me, "what's the right choice"? You made the right choice, see you soon.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Robert MarvinneyTo Dexter HodgemanThanks, Dexter. I’ve worked out Plan B, which is to drive to Bozeman MT to visit our son, then ride west from there. Cheryl will carry the gear fro me in the truck, which should make riding much easier. We’ll be able to spend time together in interesting places. Thanks for riding with me in VT!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kevin DamuthTo Robert MarvinneyBob

That is fabulous. We depart Astoria on June 2nd on the Transam. Expect to be in MT at Lolo Pass, late June. Any chance we may cross paths?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago