Why now? - Sea to Sea - CycleBlaze

Why now?

Perhaps it is not the wisest choice to wait until retirement to pursue a goal I’ve had since high school to ride across America, but life rarely offers a perfect time for anything.  There simply has not been the critical alignment of time, obligations, and resources to have made this possible at an earlier age.  Besides, I knew I had to wait for Al Gore to invent the internet, the USA to launch a constellation of GPS satellites, and Steve Jobs to create the iPhone before I would have the resources necessary to make this possible! I’ve spent decades thinking about it, and years planning and following other blogs.  Now is the time to ride!  Encouraged by my successful shakedown ride across coastal Maine last Fall, I intend to begin this adventure in mid-May 2022. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Lorenzo JaryAt least you are doing it! Bravo Robert!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Art BellBob, I am so envious! I will be following you regularly, and PLEASE cry out if you ever get lonely out there. Today is "Veto" day and I can't wait to get home and get my bike out and start riding! Best wishes, Art!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Fred BeckFair winds, Bob. Your fan club will conjure up ways to make the winds come from the East! Have a great trip, Fred
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John KeatorTo Bob, I know you have spoken of this goal since I met you in 1973! It is great to see it come to fruition. Cheryl and I are honored that you let us share this with you and that I had a short ride with you today. As the welcome sign in Portland says “May you have fair weather and following breezes”. I’ll be anxiously following this blog.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago