So it goes… - Sea to Sea - CycleBlaze

So it goes…

This is my final blog entry.  After 650 miles and 11 days of fabulous riding in Montana, I must stop without reaching my goal of the Pacific Coast.  A few days ago when I had the flat tire, I had to lift the bike over the guardrail to make the repair.  Even without two loaded panniers, the bike is fairly heavy and the lifting awkward.  Later that day at camp, I pulled the bike carrier to it's full upright position, another awkward move.  By early evening, I knew I had done something to my back.  The next morning I was stiff and barely able to hobble about, but I rode anyway, and the riding was good.  The next evening I was in real pain with pulled muscles and/or a pinched nerve.  Some meds prescribed at the clinic I visited are helping, but having had an episode like this recently, I know it will be weeks before I’m back to normal.  Rather than risk further injuries on the significant hills ahead, I’ve decided to end my ride.

Thanks for following and all the words of encouragement!  Maybe I’ll get out on another epic ride in a future year.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesArgh. Sorry you hurt yourself but sounds like the right decision to live to ride another day. Good luck.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kevin DamuthBob

So sorry you had to end your trek early. We will pray for a speedy recovery!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago