September 18: Midland to Wasaga Beach - Simcoe County Loop Trail (Tour 21) - 2021 🇨🇦 - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2021

September 18: Midland to Wasaga Beach

Green tunnels and waves on the beach

Hotel: J&J Hotel, Wasaga Beach, ON

Heart 0 Comment 0
My route once I got onto the SCLT was right alongside the water with great views to the harbour and these huge elevators. All along here used to be big ship-building enterprises, grain mills and wood mills. All are gone today, but now the water is clean and I think tourism reigns supreme. -- Midland, ON
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along the trail south of Penetang there were something like 17 old railway bridges that were removed and rec trail bridges built in their place. Now this incredible route winds through a canopy of green. -- Penetanguishene, ON
Heart 0 Comment 0
Once the trail stopped its undulating, lengthy portions were straight and flat - which the railway would have preferred, of course. Through the trees I could see many cultivated fields, primarily corn. -- Between Penetang and Elmvale, ON
Heart 0 Comment 0
Same as the previous photo, but this time looking back toward Penetang.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was the constant sound of the breaking of waves on the sandy beach - apparently the longest beach in the world. Whether it is or isn't, it was beautiful and deserted, though as I sat and listened, people started trickling to the beach and boardwalk. -- Wasaga Beach, ON
Heart 0 Comment 0

WANTING to enjoy another early morning and sunrise, I loaded up the bike and rolled away at around 6:45 am (sunset at 7:01) and back toward the town centre to Grounded, a cool little cafe near the harbour where I got a tasty capp.

Then it was across the road to the trail. For the start, the route hugged the shore, after first going around the elevators and its industry. When the route turned away from the water there were a few really steep climbs, one of which had me walking and pushing the bike. I probably could have stayed on the bike, but did not want to take the chance of pushing too hard and injuring my ankle or calf. The climbs were short and I was soon rolling along again on a smooth paved path that wound its way through tall trees until it emerged into the streets of Penetanguishene. Not as pretty as Midland, it had its good spots and then I was on the SCLT and out of town.

For the next bit, the route wound through hilly forest land and across about 17 spots where there had originally been railway bridges. The original steel structures had been removed and were replaced with smaller wooden bridges, which meant there was a dip in the path for each one since the span was much less now.

As I progressed away from Penetang the path went from paved to limestone on dirt which, for the most, part was almost as smooth as a paved route. Occasionally the limestone was loose and a tiny bit softer. It wasn't hard to cycle but I could feel that the softness was slightly absorbing my momentum. What came to mind was  - how would this route be in the rain? There was mud under the limestone so maybe it would be a mess? I have no idea. Again, as I have mentioned already, my mostly slick Schwalbe Marathon Supreme tires worked beautifully, so anyone with these, a gravel or mountain bike would be fine though the MTB might be overkill for these tame trails. On the other hand, a road bike with really hard road tires might find it soft at times.

The route straightened out and was fairly arrow-straight, though still very pretty because of the leafy canopy. As I approached Elmvale the path dwindled out and ended up through someone's property (I guess a hold out when the trail was being set up from the railbed). This put me onto a very busy county road for about a km or less. There was a slight margin to ride on and was fine, but it was nice when the rail-trail resumed after a short bit.

I wasn't expecting Elmvale to be very big, but it seemed even smaller than that. I went over to a couple who were walking their dog, let them know I was double vaxxed but still stayed distant, and asked them if there was a nice cafe in town. They kind of laughed and said it is redneck area, so no,  and said if I were to ask that around town I would be told to go back to the city. We all laughed when I said I was from Cochrane which wasn't exactly the city. He said he knew the town because he used to go visit his brother in Moose Factory when his dentistry practice was there 30-ish years ago.

The couple also suggested a quiet route into Wasaga Beach which would keep me off Road 92 which was pretty busy. I wandered along 8th Line which became gravel for a while, but it was as smooth or better than the road around Lillabelle Lake back home. And there were no cars on it. I was able to check out the nice old farm houses and the fields of corn, some that had been harvested, and some not.

The final five or so kilometres were on paved road which undulated enough that I will be sure to take it easy tomorrow on the way out - there will be one really long climb to get out of the area. Not steep but very long. Then I was suddenly in town, though I didn't even know the time. I saw my motel and rolled in to see if the room happened to be ready. It was only 10 am so it was not, but the owner said it would be by 11 am. I told him not to worry and that I would head toward the beach to take a look around.

I headed toward the water and it was the last bit where I saw all of the kitsch shops, parking lots and general ugliness of a beach resort area. We sure don't do this well. Fortunately the beach is pristine and due to its being off season there was nobody but the seagulls and me. And the waves crashing onto the beautiful white sand. I would say that the beach here is not as nice as Cayo Coco, Cuba, but is better than Jibacoa (where I go most years, covid notwithstanding).

I rode a small bit along the boardwalk, then stopped at a bench to sit and just listen and watch the waves. It was a bit cool, but not bad once I put on my jacket. But I started to get a wee bit peckish so zipped into town for a snack. I also checked out supper options, but there is nothing that looks that great, though I will look online for some hidden treasure. I think the majority are catering to the party punks from the city who are not here for fine dining. So, if all else fails, there is an Osmow's where I can get a chicken shawarma. I have eaten at the one in Sudbury and really liked it. I'll be happy with that.

Not sure what I will do later today, I am thinking I might walk down to the beach to sit and watch the waves some more, or just walk down the beach since I haven't done that since Cuba in early 2020. I miss that.

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 130 km (81 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0