My friend BOB - Simcoe County Loop Trail (Tour 21) - 2021 🇨🇦 - CycleBlaze

My friend BOB

I am sure anyone actually reading the journal has figured out that BOB is my trailer. This is not my name for it; rather, the full commercial name is Beast Of Burden, or BOB. The regular quick release (QR) skewer comes out of the rear axle of my bike and is replaced by a BOB-specific one which has attachment points for the trailer. This allows the trailer to rotate up or down. A vertical nylon bushing allows the trailer to turn.

All told, the trailer tracks exactly behind the bike and as long as it is not overloaded, I hardly even know it is there. In fact, on this tour, I looked back a few times to make sure it was still there. Furthermore, when I first bought the BOB, I added rubber at any contact points of metal on metal to stop the squeaking and rattling - now it is silent.

Having not used the BOB on tour for about a decade, I was anxious to try it out after a bunch of pannier tours. Let's just say that I was really pleased with the performance. It is so convenient and easy to access my belongings, and as mentioned, whether on a rail-trail or road, the bike is very stable and light. This is not to say that panniers are bad, just different. All told, if my next tour is in Europe, I will likely use panniers, unless the tour is four or more weeks long, in which case I might use the BOB; if my next tour is in Canada, I will likely use the BOB. Where the BOB is no fun is the fact that it is another big thing that has to be boxed and checked in at the airport, and if there are any bus or train trips, the BOB makes the process a semi-nightmare.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0