September 19: Wasaga Beach to Barrie - Simcoe County Loop Trail (Tour 21) - 2021 🇨🇦 - CycleBlaze

September 19, 2021

September 19: Wasaga Beach to Barrie

Overhead geese at sunrise

Monte Carlo Inn, Barrie

Heart 0 Comment 0

ANOTHER beautiful start to the day. I was up really early, so anxious was I to get going and rolling along. There was a slight bit of light in the sky, but not much, but at 6:20 am I couldn't wait any longer so loaded up and headed out.

I made a stop to visit my friend Tim - not my best friend, but seemingly my only friend at this hour. Once I had gobbled up my goodies, it was almost light out so I headed back out of town along the same route I had used yesterday to come in.

Yesterday, the long rolling descents seemed ... well, long. But to be honest, the climbs were not bad and I quickly ascended. The one difference from yesterday was that I didn't go along the same gravel road. However, a bit further along when I re-joined the SCLT, it was gravel for a piece. This piece seemed to be another road section that had to go around where the former rail-bed was unavailable to the trail committee and had been swallowed up by the adjoining cornfields.

Just as the sun rose over the horizon a few flocks of Canada Geese flew overhead on their way south (here?) for the winter. There was not a breeze, occasionally mists were rising from the fields, the sky was perfectly clear, the morning was a cool 7 C (yes, cooler than my normal base threshold of 10 C) but it smelled fresh and clean and my legs were spinning me along.

The route eventually returned to yet another very long section of green tunnels through the trees. At one point ATVs were allowed on the route, and though I did not see any, I had to ride along what would be the softest section I had experienced this tour. With their wide tires, they tear up the ground and leave it all mushy. Fun for them but not great for hikers or cyclists. Eventually, there was a barricade which barred all motorized vehicles (other than snow machines in the winter) so the path was solid and fast once again. It also happened to be a long curving section that went down, down and down until I abruptly turned from rail-bed to gravel road to paved road, and over the next few kilometres became a city road that led straight into Barrie and diverted around and over the 400 highway.

From just up the hill I recognized my location from having been here last year when I stayed in Barrie at the nearby BW. A little further along I came to my motel which overlooks the 400 superhighway. As I always find to be the case when on tour, after having been in the countryside on quiet car-less streets, it is always a culture shock to see so many people and so much noisy traffic. It was only yesterday that the loudest 'noise' was the crashing of the waves.

I could see by the parking lot that the motel was fairly busy so was not surprised when I went in to the lobby they told me that there were no room at the inn.  The wifi was open so I sat out on a bench and just relaxed the short bit til one was ready. They said I could roll my bike right onto the elevator and up to my room, so within a few minutes I had backed the bike and trailer into my room. So nice this way since I leave everything on the bike and in the trailer so in the morning I just toss everything back into the bag  (neatly) and am on my way.

I got cleaned up and changed then waited for my cousin to drive in from Toronto, then went for a late lunch or early supper and caught up. It was a really nice visit and we had a nice time. After eating she brought me back to the Inn where I just lounged for my last night-before-cycling rest. Tomorrow I will head to Orillia and to my car, quickly load it up, then head back home in time to see my lad when he gets home from school. I hope I remember to tell the tale of tomorrow's journeys!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 176 km (109 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0