Final Thoughts - "Ride Directly Into the Serpent Without Fear" - CycleBlaze

Final Thoughts

This tour was much harder than I expected, and was undoubtedly the most physically challenging thing I've ever attempted. I started off utterly out of shape, and have never felt so terrible as I did at the end of the third day. After that, though, I did "ride myself into shape" as I planned. Also: Adventure Cycling's Great Parks South and Western Express routes are hard, certainly more challenging than the TransAmerica Trail or the Northern Tier.

The States:

Iowa

I love Iowa, which I believe is the friendliest place in the USA. I was only there for a few days on this tour, but it was enjoyable as usual.

Nebraska

Almost as friendly as Iowa, with equally courteous drivers. The route across the state was mostly great, except for part of the first day - and that could probably have been better if I had spent a little more time planning the route. Much of the scenery was really, really nice - certainly more interesting than anything you can see from I-80. Thanks to John Egan for his routing suggestions.

Wyoming

I wasn't there long, but I liked it, just as I did on the TransAmerica Trail in 2006. I'd like to do a tour of the entire state some day.

Colorado

I don't think I will ride a bicycle in Colorado again; there are too many people and not enough (paved) roads there for it to be truly enjoyable to a traffic-hater like me. That said, the scenery is of course often spectacular there. However, both of the times I felt like quitting on this tour happened in Colorado...

Utah

The route through Utah was a very pleasant surprise: Remote and often gorgeous. I lived in a different part of the state for three years, and often complained about it, but I can imagine visiting southern Utah in the future and enjoying it.

Nevada

The route was nice except for the Fallon-to-Carson City section, with its super-heavy traffic (ameliorated by a wide, if cluttered, shoulder.) I did grow a little weary of the constant climbing and descending, which I had incorrectly assumed I was finished with after leaving Utah. The towns on the Loneliest Road have distinct personalities, and I found that each town had something to recommend it. Overall: I enjoyed riding in the state.

California

Mostly really nice. This was my first time in the state, and I liked what I saw.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Kelly IniguezI know I read your journal the first go round, but I’m having fun rereading today.

Thank you for the link!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeff LeeTo Kelly IniguezHi Kelly,

Thanks for reading this old journal, haha. This one is memorable to me because I've never started a bicycle tour so out of shape, and I've also never lost so much weight on a tour. After I finished this one, I basically just laid down for a few weeks, I was so weak.

By the way, I feel like I should always apologize to you (and other Coloradans) because in retrospect I complain too much about the Colorado drivers.

In my "Final Thoughts" on this page, I predict that I wouldn't tour in Colorado again, but of course I did it with my wife three years later on the Great Divide.

Maybe I'll try again - but only if I can find a lower traffic route :)

Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Jeff LeeI'm still reading - thank you for the Friday evening entertainment!

Any time you are ready to ride some lower traffic roads in Colorado, I'd be happy to help with a route. There's plenty of good riding to be had, especially for someone (like you) who loves to climb!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark Bingham82 miles a day through that kind of heat... I'll say it again: you're an animal. I couldn't have done that even in my prime. That's remarkable! I enjoyed reading about it!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeff LeeTo Mark BinghamThanks, Mark.

I'd actually like to do the Western Express again, although I doubt I'd be able to do it at my 2013 pace now.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago