"Don't Jinx Me!" - "Ride Directly Into the Serpent Without Fear" - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2013

"Don't Jinx Me!"

Day 34: Winters, California to San Francisco, California

I woke up early and was riding out of town in the dark. This was going to be a shorter day than usual, but I wanted to allow more than enough time than I thought I needed. As it turned out, this was a good decision.

I almost immediately made an incorrect choice at a fork in the road, which cost me four wasted miles. Grrr.

Once I found it, the accurately named (although what's up with the extra "s"?) Pleasants Valley Road was nice. Winding, shady and almost completely empty early on a Saturday morning. I really like this part of California.

After a while I turned onto a frontage road alongside the always-busy I-80, then rode through a low-traffic residential area for a while. Next, Suisun Road was another nice ride, this time through vineyards. It seemed like the various vineyards were competing for the title of "Cutesiest-Grape-or-Wine-Themed-Mailbox". I dutifully took several photos of these, but I'd grown tired the last few days of getting the camera out of the handlebar bag every time I saw something vaguely interesting.

Around this time it started getting windy and cold. I rode over I-80 and into an unscenic industrial area, where I missed a turn and was delayed about 15 minutes until a friendly jogger told me how to get back on the route.

A severe headwind developed, and a group of local cyclists caught up with me. They were a friendly bunch, and we stopped and talked for a while. I had become pretty jaded about this tour, so I was a little surprised that they seemed interested and impressed by it, and that I had only 20 miles or so to go. One of the young women said "Now you've got it made!" A minute or so after my response of "Don't jinx me!", I stood up on the pedal to go, pushed down, and broke my chain.

Two of the cyclists were still with me, and one of them, Dan, helped me get the chain fixed. (Ok, Dan actually fixed my chain while I watched. The woman with Dan told me "he loves to fix bike stuff!" I certainly didn't want to interfere with Dan's fun.)

We caught up with the rest of the group, and after some discussion we decided that they would lead me through Vallejo to the ferry terminal, along a more direct route than the one specified by Adventure Cycling. I was slightly dubious about this, but they assured me it would be fine. The route was very busy, featured what the other cyclists described as a 30% grade, and included a section through what one of the women termed "the ghetto", but everything worked out and I arrived at the ferry terminal early.

The ride across the bay was uneventful, although I was nervous about leaving the bike unattended at the back of the boat as required. I had eaten only a couple of candy bars today, but I resisted the urge to purchase ultra-expensive snacks on the ferry: A rare triumph of willpower on my part.

When we arrived in San Francisco I walked the bike off the ferry and found Joy, who presented me with the best macaroni-and-cheese I've ever eaten, from the Cowgirl Creamery's Artisan Cheese Shop at the ferry terminal. (It was so good that I rode the bus back the next day to get more.)

After that, I rode/walked my bike a couple of slightly disorienting miles through ultra-busy San Francisco to the Hotel Kabuki, where I shed the bike clothes that I'd been loathing for quite a while, used the Japanese-style shower, and changed into my strangely-heavy-feeling jeans.

Now switched into normal-tourist mode, I walked with Joy outside where I mostly ignored an inexplicable (to an old man like me) festival called the "JPop Summit", and instead focused my attention on the numerous food trucks parked nearby. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Friendly local cyclists I met outside of Vallejo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dan, who fixed my broken chain. He is indeed the Man.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Waiting in line to get on the ferry from Vallejo to San Francisco.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I didn't bother riding several miles to the Golden Gate Bridge (where the Western Express route officially ends), so this picture that Joy took of me eating macaroni and cheese at the ferry terminal in San Francisco will have to do.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Very excited about being able to wear jeans again, after a month of wearing bike clothes.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A couple days later, still in San Francisco. I'd never been in the city, and enjoyed our brief visit.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 2,786 miles (4,484 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Karen CookYou were a stones throw from my house. Too bad I didn't "know" you then.

Next time ;-)
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Jeff LeeTo Karen CookDo you live somewhere between Winters and Vallejo?

This trip was my first (and so far only) time visiting California. I liked it. I thought the Western Express route through there was nice, with only a couple of too--busy sections (I have a very, very low tolerance for traffic, so most people wouldn't even have been bothered by it.)

I'd like to do more touring in California sometime. Riding down the coast is probably too busy for me, but maybe there are other options?
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Karen CookYes, near Vacaville.

Roads without traffic are not impossible here but they may not go to the most interesting places and, if they do, you sort of have to stitch them together. I may spend a few days on the Sierra Cascade route this summer. I will let you know how that is.

The coast is pretty busy, yes. That might not be good.

One thing about California is the 3'-foot law. I notice most people are pretty good about it, more than some other states I have toured in, like Montana for example.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago