Day 12...Honeyman SP to North Bend - Rick's Solo Canada to Mexico Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 1, 2018

Day 12...Honeyman SP to North Bend

The Dunes!!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Umpqua lighthouse and is also a Coast Guard station and family housing
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today the route initially moved away from the coast a little bit. I got to the little town of Reedsport and had a late breakfast. There was a US Forest Service info center across the street so I stopped in and learned a little more about the Oregon Dunes. So at Winchester Bay I got off route a few miles and was frankly stunned at what I saw. Huge coastal sand dunes as high as 200 feet. It was not what I was expecting to see! A. Few extra miles but well worth it. I am moving into southern Oregon and expext to ccross into California on Thursday. Moving right along and can't wait to see the redwoods!

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 556 miles (895 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0