Day 39.....La Jolla to Mexican border - Rick's Solo Canada to Mexico Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 28, 2018

Day 39.....La Jolla to Mexican border

Heart 0 Comment 0
The Transit Center at the border. The red train was my ride back to San Diego
Heart 0 Comment 0
San Diego from Coronado Island
Heart 0 Comment 0
The USS Midway
Heart 0 Comment 0
The border
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sea lions and seals at La Jolla
Heart 0 Comment 0
La Jolla
Heart 1 Comment 1
Denise WatsonNice helmet tan there, Sparky!!!!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scuba divers in the water
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interstate 5 border crossing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a great picture, but it is Mexico
Heart 0 Comment 0
Don't want to go that way!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Well, it's a little difficult to process that this is the last day of riding and the end of this crazy journey. The day started in the beautiful little town of La Jolla. The morning was a little foggy but the waterfront in La Jolla was already very busy. Along with the view the main attraction are the seals and sea lions lounging on the beach.

The ride was pretty easy today as I entered San Diego. Again a waterfront bike trail was very nice though crowded  and slow going. Then a 15 minute ferry ride took me to Coronado Island and from there a long narrow strip of land called the Silver Strand took me to Imperial Beach. From there you could see Tijuana on the hillside and the last several miles were dotted with at least 7 or 8 small horse farms.

The border area was quite chaotic and busy. There is a huge Outlet mall less than a half mile from the border that was just packed with cars and people. Right at the border there were just a few money exchange businesses, a Mc Donalds of course, and a Jack in the Box. I was starving so went with Jack in the Box. 

A trolley/train leaves the border every 15 minutes back to downtown San Diego so I rode back and then about a 4 mile ride to my hotel. The ride to the border today was 40 miles.

So Monday morning I'll take my bike to a nearby bike shop and have it packed and shipped home and also will ship some gear home. Hopefully I'll still have time for a little sightseeing, maybe the San Diego Zoo or the USS Midway.

So the final numbers were.....1778 miles ridden in 35 days of riding, an average of about 51 miles per day. The longest day was 67 and shortest 26. Actual time in the saddle riding was about 172 hours and according to my odometer I burned about 90,000 calories! I am definitely going to have to scale back how much I eat now! 

Thank you to everyone who followed my progress for your words of encouragement and contributions to a great cause!

This was a much more physically challenging ride than Lincoln to Lincoln but the beauty that I saw in this part of our amazing country was awe inspiring. I met many great people along the way from all over the world. The first day in Washington when I barely covered 35 miles and my knee hurt I had some doubts about completing this journey but just kept taking it a day at a time.

I was blessed with beautiful weather almost every day and had only one day of rain on the 3rd day in Washington.

This was trip I will never forget!  Thanks Again! Rick

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 1,782 miles (2,868 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Denise WatsonWe are so proud of you and love you!!!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltEnjoyed following your journal!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Bob DistelbergVery much enjoyed following along on your trip. Looked like a great adventure. Thanks for posting the journal.
Bob
Reply to this comment
5 years ago