Day 11 Newport to Honeyman State Park - Rick's Solo Canada to Mexico Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 30, 2018

Day 11 Newport to Honeyman State Park

Some of you may not know I did a similar trip 4 years ago. I called it Lincoln to Lincoln. I started at the Lincoln Memorial in DC and ended in Lincoln Nebraska which was a little under 1700 miles. The riding wasn't nearly as difficult as this trip but I did make a somewhat unwise decision. By going east to west I ended up riding into a headwind about 75% of the time. On the west coast about 98% of touring cyclists go north to south because the winds this time of year are generally out of the north hence a tailwind. Well, so far that hasn't really held true and today was a doozy with winds out of the south at about 15mph with gusts of probably 20-25mph. On top of the hills and bluffs it was all I could do at times to keep the bike in a relatively straight line.

As I reached the top of one climb I pulled into a scenic overlook and before I even got off the bike I could hear the sea lions barking down below in the water. There were a bunch of them down there and fun to watch. All in all another day of hard riding and spectacular scenery.

I have already gone through two tunnels and crossed many bridges with little or no shoulder. One  great thing Oregon does is they have a button cyclists can push that activates flashing lights which warn drivers that there is a cyclist in the tunnel or on the bridge.

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 505 miles (813 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0