Two weeks in Munich: Fixing my rack - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

November 15, 2013

Two weeks in Munich: Fixing my rack

I spent two more weeks in Munich waiting for my passport to arrive with a Russian visa in it. I did surprisingly little during this time, other than getting my bike fixed. I had almost written my front rack off as a lost cause, but then I came across a magician of a bike mechanic. He heated up the frame, poured oil in to the braize-ons with the broken screws in, let it cool, and repeated several times. This process allowed the oil to seap in between the screw until finally he could get them out. Amazingly he saved the threads and I could refit the rack almost like new. It took him all day. When I asked him about money he gave me a handful of spare brake pads and told me to go. He was the greatest.

A man setting fire to my bike, and I'm okay with that
Heart 1 Comment 0
The guy on the left was the genius. I wish I could remember his name. It definitely wasn't Joe
Heart 3 Comment 0

15/11/13 - (10km unloaded)

16/11/13 - (10km unloaded)

17/11/13 - 3km

20/11/13 - (2km unloaded)

22/11/13 - (35km unloaded)

Today's ride: 3 km (2 miles)
Total: 9,637 km (5,985 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0