Why Can’t a Dog Be More Like a Deer - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2022

Why Can’t a Dog Be More Like a Deer

Today was just the ride I’d been hoping for. I was planning for about 60 miles and I was in absolutely no rush to get to the finish line.  But what made it just about perfect were the bucolic Virginia roads.  If I’m being totally honest, I would say my riding preparation for this trip was excellent and my route review and understanding was at best a C minus. I really thought more of the trip would have been on roads like today’s  route. Very few highways, lots of country roads with very light traffic, and wonderful scenery.  Unfortunately many of the roads I’ve traveled haven’t been like that. But today’s were, so it was a great day. 

I guess one thing the highways offered that the country roads don’t is the absence of dogs. A couple dogs chose to chase me today, but I was able to get away cleanly. The closest call was when someone opened the door to let their dogs out early and they saw me before I saw them. Now in contrast, every time I saw a deer, they ran from me, not at me. Hence the title of today’s  blog. 

I started at 7am again today and was treated to some great fog pictures. The temperature and the humidity collaborated very nicely this morning to create what you’ll see in the attached pictures. 

Today was also a double milestone day.   I  completed Section 11 and broke out the final map of the TransAm Route. I still have to get to the Atlantic Coast Route Map, but that won’t happen until I reach Richmond.  And I finally reached the point where I have under 500 miles left to go. It’s actually 478.9, but who’s counting 😳. 

Went down memory lane for Brian today by stopping in Christiansburg and eating at Macado’s.  A little too much Hokie memorabilia for me, but then again I was in Hokie territory. 

Ok that’s all for today folks…

Ian

The morning fog version one as seen in Draper, VA
Heart 10 Comment 1
Julie MeyerWhat a gorgeous picture.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The morning fog version two as seen in Draper, VA
Heart 4 Comment 0
Sharing some scenery from Christiansburg
Heart 6 Comment 0
Snuck a second barn in for good measure. Also taken in Christiansburg.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is my choice for sign of the day. I’m not sure I would have named my diner that but who am I to judge? After all I eat 50% of my meals at gas stations.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Barn of the day.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Just for you Brian.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 570 miles (917 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0