Max Man, This One’s For You - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 30, 2022

Max Man, This One’s For You

Today’s goal was to finish in Max Meadows in honor of the young Doctor
Heart 6 Comment 0

The plan for the day was to get out early and hopefully beat the impending thunder, lightning, and rain.  So it was off to the best and only open before 8am breakfast restaurant in town (the marathon gas station). No complaints as they make awesome bacon, egg, and cheese biscuit sandwiches.  If McDonalds, or Burger King or Cracker Barrel or [insert any other fast food or chain] could replicate the gas station quality breakfast, their profits could finance a small country.  But I digress, again…

The climb up the first hill was a bit tougher than the second, but they were both through a beautiful national forest with virtually no traffic. It was a nice casual downhill from there until Lindsey decided she needed to test my ability to outrun her. Fortunately I saw her coming and she never had a chance. So the pepper spray remains unused.   If you’re wondering how I knew her name, it’s because the owner sat on his porch and casually called her to come back 😳.  I applaud his effort but would have appreciated a bit more active engagement in protecting me. 

Of course it was again hot and humid but nothing worse than any other day in the past week. The real question was how far would I get before the rain came?  So quick lunch in Rural Retreat (cute town with an odd name) and a then a race to see if I’d make it to Wytheville (pronounced Withville) or Max Meadows before being poured on. Having lived and ridden my bike in Oregon for 5 years, I’ve had more than my fair share of rainy rides.   I didn’t feel the need to add to the count today, and I was just barely successful. I reached Max Meadows just as the drizzle started and before the huge downpour. Depending on which app you look at, there’s a good chance of rain throughout the night. So I am wussing out and staying in a hotel. My penance for that is I’m probably having Papa John’s delivered for dinner (or I’m going to the gas station next door). 

I  struggling a bit with taking pictures in this part of Virginia. It’s just this beautiful mass of green trees up and down the mountains. I really can’t figure how to do it justice with an iPhone photo.  My best suggestion is that you take a trip down the  Blue Ridge Parkway and keep looking west. I’d you’ve never done that, fall is a perfect time!

You’ve already seen the sign of the day in honor of my oldest son. I snapped a barn picture and I think it’s the first gray barn. There will also be one or two photos attempting to share the views.  Finally in an effort to justify my rain comments, I have a photo of the downpour I avoided. 

I think that’s it for today. Tomorrow I’m heading for Blacksburg, VA (and yes Brian as I’m going by and just for you I will yell out “Let’s Go…” and see if I get the right response. It’s waHOOwa right?) and hopefully departing close to 7am maybe earlier if it’s light enough. 

Ian

The gray barn on the backside of the morning climbs before the Lindsey attack.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Never did I ever think that Dollar General would be one of my go to places. Honestly Dollar General is a critical part of the rural America infrastructure. And yes I’m serious!
Heart 3 Comment 0
View looking east on the way into Max Meadows.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another view from the same place.
Heart 2 Comment 0
See that is pouring rain not a drizzle.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 638 miles (1,027 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Michele GordonOk ……you’ve been on the road eating in convenience stores and gas stations way toooooo long when you passionately describe the delicious quality of a gas station egg sandwich 😳
Soooooo glad you did not spend a lot of outdoor time in that rain ugh 😩
You are in single digits now until the Atlantic woohoo you da man 😎
Reply to this comment
1 year ago