She Only Drinks Coffee At Midnight… - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2022

She Only Drinks Coffee At Midnight…

I’d bet that some of you have no idea about today’s blog title…Well, it’s a line from a song by Train titled.  “Meet Virginia“.  And boy did I meet Virginia today. 

Ride started at exactly 7am, not 6:59 and not 7:01. The climbing also started at exactly 7am. After the first 2 miles I had climbed 600 feet. By the 8 mile mark it was 1,400 feet. And by the end of the ride it was 6,850 feet of climbing.  Did I forget to mention that at the 1.5 mile mark (yes I was climbing) I experienced the worst canine attack of the trip. Just as I was coming around a curve there was this big (think St Bernard size) dirty white dog tearing through someone’s garbage.   I didn’t move quick enough to get my pepper spray and he was immediately in attack mode. I tried to sprint (uphill 😳) away, but he caught me. Actually not me, he grabbed hold of one of my rear panniers. Fortunately I was able to pull it away by continuing to ride, but then he grabbed it again. And again, I was successful in pulling it away and finally distancing myself from Cujo.  Phew, that was a close one for sure! 

Thanks for that fine welcome Virginia!

Stopped for the day in Damascus, VA. It is right at the base of the next big climb. I’m estimating the climb to be between 1,700 and 1,800 feet of elevation. That should get my heart pumping nice and early. After that, there’s some ups and downs, but the overall trend will be down. I feel like I’ve earned a downhill day (of course only after a big uphill…so maybe half a day of downhill). 

Other than the Cujo attack, nothing particularly noteworthy today.  Of course it was hot and humid, but that just seems to be the norm. Forecast for tomorrow is thunder, lightning, and rain starting around 11. Should be done with the climb by then (I hope).  

As for where I am planning to end tomorrow, all I can say for certain is somewhere beyond the climb and still in Virginia. 

Ok, now riddle me this Batman, if Virginia is for Lovers, why is there a town in Virginia called Hayters Gap?  Is that where they confine all the non-lovers?  Seemed to be too small a town for that…just sayin. By the way, a street sign from Hayters Gap is the sign of the day. 

Bye for now, 

Ian 

This is the view from near the top (on the descent side) of today’s biggest climb. It’s the town of Honaker, VA going into Hayters Gap.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Sign of the day…if Virginia is for Lovers…why do they need a Hayters Gap?
Heart 5 Comment 0
Thought you’d enjoy a scenery picture. This one is looking east I think from Meadowview, which is where I was planning to stay tonight.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Barn of the day. First one from Virginia. Seen in Abington, VA
Heart 6 Comment 0
Profile of today’s ride. The starting point was Breaks and the ending point was Damascus.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 80 miles (129 km)
Total: 718 miles (1,156 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Anil Pillai8 mile and almost 7k climb. That is #respect. Not easy even just hiking

Did you use GoPro to take live videos?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Anil PillaiI stand corrected :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago