Nobody Warned Me About Missouri - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2022

Nobody Warned Me About Missouri

What the heck…I thought everything after Colorado was flat until you got to Virginia. Where did all these hills (not mountains just hills) come from?  They are crazy steep sometimes too. I hit 12% grade on one today.  Also had the pleasure of lots of wind and rain. Can’t complain about the rain too much as I’ve been lucky with how little I’ve had to deal with it. But seriously going from 100 degree heat and humidity to high 60s - low 70s and heavy rain, that’s a little drastic  of a change in one day. 

Short story is I wussed out today. Just did 41 and grabbed a hotel to dry out both me and my clothes. The original plan was for about another 30 and then to camp. Seeing as it going to rain tonight and again tomorrow, I chose to not go to bed soaked, camp in the rain, and have to pack up everything wet and start all over again  in the morning. So I’m dry but don’t worry  I’ll be wet again bright and early. 

Limited pictures as it was raining (I guess you already knew that) and I didn’t want to get my phone soaked and/or the stuff in my bag.  plus I was more focused on staying safe than on looking at all the scenery.  If I’m being truthful, it was dry for the first 9 miles, but it was windy and well I just didn’t take pictures today. 

I do have a good story…seeing as it was raining, I stopped to put on my rain jacket. Rain pants, well heck they’re just dumb, until they’re not. When it really started coming down, I stopped at an O’Reilly’s tire store to put on my rain pants. As I was pulling away, a guy stopped me and said he had something for me?  He ran back somewhere and came out with a reflective vest for me. He said it can be crazy out there and he wanted me to be safe. And then he helped me put it on correctly. All the  while he was standing in his work clothes in the rain. I said thanks and rode away. Never got his name nor did I say thank you properly. So later I called the store and tried to reach him. Turns out he doesn’t work there and nobody has any idea who he was. I do…just another midwesterner with a big heart!

Another cool thing today has to do with the Missouri drivers. Every time a car or truck came up behind me on a climb, they waited far back until I crested the hill and then they safely passed me. How cool is that?  Clearly none of them got their license in Jersey 😉

No barn, no sign, just a couple of random pictures. 

Ian

The scenery nearing sunset from the winery I camped at yesterday. Thanks again Jean and Dwight fro 7Cs.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Missouri is flat right? That was just the start of the rollers and before the rain came.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Now that is one styling dude. Think it will catch on as a new fashion trend?
Heart 8 Comment 1
Enid MeadowsI love that guy! Good Karma needs to find him!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 1,630 miles (2,623 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Michele GordonOk you are not a wuss …..riding on a roller coaster in the pouring rain ……cold …..merits a dry night of sleep
I’d say you are being pretty darn smart ☺️

Oh yeah Jim Mcman says that part of Missouri sure is hilly 😜……guess you just didn’t ask the experts before you entered MO ……

Stay safe love ❤️ (stay dry and warm when ya can )😘
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsIs it too late to consider rerouting onto the Katy Trail? As a former railroad right-of-way it'll skip all those nasty Ozark dips and rises. You can pick up the TransAm once again when you cross the Mississippi at Chester, IL.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George HallSince nobody warned you about Missouri, I'll warn you after the fact. MO has a few steep hills, but only a couple that are similar to the Appalachians in KY & VA. MO is mostly just a continuous roller coaster ride, but it will help prepare you for eastern KY and VA.

And just a brief "cultural warning" seems in order; MO & KY are backwards states with regards to education, healthcare, etc. Most of the folks are friendly, but unfortunately there are those who don't understand why a cyclist should be on "their" road and slow them down for a few seconds - hopefully you won't meet any such folks.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ian GordonGeorge thanks for your comments. I’m finding the people in Missouri to be particularly nice and the drivers to be very courteous. As for the culture, my observation is that the areas the TransAm visits are mostly rural and culturally very different than the places I’ve lived and/or worked. Different isn’t bad, it’s just different.

Absolutely riding the ribbon! The biggest issue I have with it is that you can never get in a rhythm. Have experienced some 10-12% grades but they are very short. The ribbon on the other hand is relentless.

I’ve ridden the Blue Ridge from north to south and done a lot of centuries out there when I lived in Chapel Hill. Then moved to Oregon and now living outside Boulder, CO. So I guess I’ll see if I still have climbing legs when I get farther east.

Stay safe out there.

Ian
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Shelby ScovelI'm a fan of the reflective vest! Safety first boss 🦺
Reply to this comment
1 year ago