The End - Deep South - CycleBlaze

April 30, 2021

The End

I decided to end my bike tour in Natchez. I never got in the "zone" for a multi-week tour this time - I had too many distractions (mostly work-related - I was answering customer support emails on the side of the road, which is not ideal), and also I was more homesick than I expected. At age 55 (in a month), I think my days of extended (multi-week or multi-month) bike tours are over, although I believe I'll continue to enjoy shorter ones, like this one ended up being. 

The riding itself was great every day. This was a *very* nice, ultra-low-traffic route overall. I was pleasantly surprised by how polite drivers were in the deep south. If I hadn't already done a lot of riding through some of the poorest parts of Eastern Kentucky, I would have been shocked by the level of poverty I saw in parts of Alabama and Mississippi. And the dogs in Mississippi were probably as bad as they are in Kentucky. Still, everyone I met on this trip was very friendly.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Scott AndersonThanks for taking us long for the ride, Jeff. I’m sorry for us that you’re ending early, but sympathetic. I doubt I could stick with a solo trip for this long any more either.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonI love the view your pictures give of rural Alabama and Mississippi. Thanks for posting. Sorry your trip has come to an end but I know the feeling when you heart isn't in it - then it's time to stop.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bob DistelbergThanks Jeff, I really enjoyed following along on your tour. Sorry to see it end so soon, but I completely understand. Hopefully you'll get out for another short tour soon.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetI enjoyed following along on your tour through an area I'll never go to (my list is very long and it's not on it).

I guess I'm opposite to you in that I love extended trips, perhaps because I couldn't do anything like that for decades. I'm happy to go solo because then I don't feel pressured to catch up to my husband, but it's nice having his company too. We haven't done more than 4 weeks together, though, because we've always had work commitments.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Maureen ThelenHappy Birthday, Jeff. Sorry you finished your ride early. Always love how amusing you tales are, and the great pictures of a world where it looks like time stands still. I haven't been through the poor areas of the south in a long time. Seems crazy that the level of poverty is still so pervasive, given how rich the US population is.

Keep riding my friend. Maybe I'll see you at a race in Maysville again sometime!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeff LeeTo Maureen ThelenThanks, Maureen. I appreciate the kind words.

I'll probably be in Maysville later again this year for the annual Limestone Cycle Tour event. That's always a fun time.m

Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 years ago