Introduction - Deep South - CycleBlaze

Introduction

Well, I guess I'll go on another bicycle tour.

Fifteen years ago when I did my first tour, the TransAmerica Trail from Viriginia to Oregon, I spent a lot of time - months -  thinking about it beforehand, although my level of planning even then was probably minimal compared to the many people who really enjoy preparing for bike tours.

This time I'm less than a week away from starting the tour, and only this morning did I locate my panniers. I long ago abandoned the practice of making a detailed gear list and carefully weighing everything. Now I just throw some stuff in two rear panniers, strap the infrequently-used tent on the rear rack, and go.

I plan to start on the Georgia coast and take a southern route towards California: GA-AL-MS-LA-TX-NM-AZ-CA.

Bicycle travel expert John Egan has worked out a route for me. I originally thought about doing the Adventure Cycling Southern Tier route, but it seemed too trafficky for my taste, so this will hopefully be a lower-traffic and more interesting alternative. I'll be riding a Salsa Fargo mountain bike, so I can do dirt and gravel when necessary.

The current plan is for my wife Joy to drop me off in Darien, Georgia at the end of next week. I don't have a return date, or a plan for how to get home from where I end up yet. That's how I do things these days.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 17
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Bob DistelbergI'm excited to follow along on this tour, especially since I just bought a Fargo about a month ago. I bought it thinking I'd use it mostly on gravel roads and trails, but have been pleasantly surprised at how nice it rides on pavement. Seems like it would be a great touring bike.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jeff LeeTo Bob DistelbergHey Bob,

The Fargo has served me well since 2016.

Ironically, before that I thought the Fargos were surely the ugliest bikes ever made, with their super-sloping top tubes.

My wife originally bought the bike for herself, but the Medium size proved to be just slightly too big for her. Interestingly, it fits me alright, even though I'm 6'2", and in theory should be riding a Large size. To make the bike work for me, I had to raise the saddle to the absolute maximum height. But after 10,000 miles, I haven't had a problem.

It works great as a touring bike.

Jeff
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jacquie GaudetThe only reasons I plan "in detail" are:
(1) I need to book flights and I would rather not have to pay last-minute fares
(2) I like to know if I'm going to pass near something I'd like to see and where exactly this something is. I've missed things before, such as seeing the Olmec Heads in Villahermosa, when I and my travelling companion spent all day in the town waiting for a bus to Palenque, not knowing there was anything of interest to see.
(3) If accommodation is potentially a problem. I spent one night on a train station floor in India (my 28th birthday) and it's not an experience I'd like to repeat in my 60s.

Other than that, I do like to "wing it".
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
John EganWishing you a most wonderful trip!
It looks like you are going to get great weather this week.
You are a lucky man, indeed.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Toni Romp-FriesenOk, what was the sappy Helen Reddy song? Danny’s Song? Ha ha ha! Safe and happy trails, Jeff!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jeff LeeTo Toni Romp-FriesenToni, Toni... Danny's Song was a hit for Anne Murray, not Helen Reddy.

You should remember the 70s better than me! (or maybe not, hahaha)

Jeff
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Melody DoyleI, like Toni, really want to know the sappy Helen Reddy song that had you all melancholy. “You and Me Against the World” possibly?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jeff LeeTo Melody DoyleYes, I'm afraid that's it.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago