Val Gardena - Well, it Started Out Well - Poking Around Europe 5.0 - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2018

Val Gardena - Well, it Started Out Well

Arabba to Val Gardena

Well, it started out so well.  We woke up this morning, opened the drapes, and there was brilliant sunshine. What a perfect day to take on a couple of the passes on the Sellaronda route. 

The view from our balcony.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our beautiful hotel.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Leaving Arabba looking directly at the lump we have to go over.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Scott AndersonLump? I don’t recall lump as a type of land formation from my Geology 101 class.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago

Last night, after exploring many options for today we decided if the weather was good we would do the Sellaronda passes over two days. The first day to Val Gardena over the Campolongo Pass followed by the Val Gardena Pass, and tomorrow over the final two passes. 

We left much of our stuff at the Hotel Alpenrose and will return there tomorrow. Lightly loaded, and in amazing weather we headed out. Keith was carrying our gear in one pannier and I had my handlebar bag. At some point on the second pass he insisted on adding the handlebar bag to his load. I wasn't complaining, but I think he felt I wasn't keeping up. I put up  a bit  of a protest about it as I was perfectly happy, but in the end I caved. I felt guilty, but it did make a difference. 

The views were stunning from the start and we were both really enjoying the ride. We took so many pictures I don’t know where to begin. 

Lots of motorcycles again today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at the switchbacks and the valley.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was so hot I started stripping at the side of the road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
And then we were there and I had to put on clothes for the descent.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The descent into Corvara was fun and stunningly beautiful. Corvara itself is just a beautiful alpine town. We stopped there for pizza.  There was to be no repeat of yesterday’s forgetting to eat mistake.  A delicious wood fired pizza was just the ticket for the next pass. 

Ski hills are everywhere. You can do the Sellaronda on skis, chairlift to chairlift. That would be an awesome day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Corvara in the distance.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Lots of action on the road. They were coming up, we were going down.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Suitably fuelled up we were on our way up the Gardena Pass. It was even more spectacular scenery wise if that is possible. We certainly didnt break any speed records. Lots of picture taking and lots of pauses just to take it all in. We were just loving it. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
We could have taken a cable car up. Not sure about the bikes though.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Helen StarkVery Swiss looking! I know it isn't though.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Our friend David going the other way.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The switchbacks just kept coming.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

When we got to the top we met three Brits who were doing the whole circuit in a day, two on unloaded road bikes, one on an electric mountain bike. Shortly before the summit his battery died. Lucky for him it was the last pass of the day. They were on their way to Corvara for post ride recovery beverages. We exchanged cameras for summit pictures and headed down in opposite directions  

Heart 2 Comment 0
Almost there.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Two pleased people 👍.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It was busy at the top. Look, we could have taken a bus!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This store had more stuff in it than it would be possible to describe. It was worth a look for the sheer variety and amount of kitsch.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then the descent. Just looking at it was fun. We were off, but even going down we had to stop for pictures. Little did we know, the day was going to take an interesting turn. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Keith going down. Note ths sky to the top right. We had just taken sunny summit photos.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
We were doomed.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I honestly didnt think it would rain hard. I can be overly optimistic. When it hit we huddled under trees for about twenty minutes and put on the wet gear. When there seemed to be a lull we took off again. The rain immediately started in earnest again and it was the kind of rain that no wet gear can really withstand. I was getting very cold (remember we were descending) so we bailed under the eaves of an empty building, with half a dozen other cyclists, when the opportunity presented itself. 

Still warm and dry here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was bucketing.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Refuge number two. Still bucketing with rain.
Heart 2 Comment 0

After another half hour or so we decided that things simply were not going to improve and since we couldn't get much wetter we might as well get to a warm hotel room. I was shivering uncontrollably at this point and it was time to go. There were two construction areas on the ride with single lane traffic and I wondered what the car drivers thought of this little old lady shivering away at the side of the road while we waited for our turn to go. The advantage to the construction was that we had long periods of traffic free riding for the six km into Val Gardena.  We dripped into the first open restaurant we saw, ordered hot drinks and found a hotel. Unfortunately the CN also realized at this point that his phone had somehow gotten wet, and we are pretty sure it is not going to recover. He has been busy downloading all his navigation apps on mine, so we will be fine. 

I thought I had warmed up in the restaurant but the shivering started again as soon as we were back out in the rain. I had the longest hot shower of my life in the hotel and finally warmed my core. By the time we went for dinner the rain had stopped. Who knows what tomorrow will bring?  By the way, so much for keeping the stitches dry hehe. They seem to be absolutely fine. There were no more pictures but it was an exciting end to the day. Thank goodness we aren’t camping!!!

We have been laughing tonight. Yesterday Keith got a notice from Strava advising him he is now a member of the Sufferfest Club. We assume it is the climbing. The last part of today was a bit of a sufferfest, but it was memorable. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here is the Relive. Please note, we did not cycle from Arabia (damn autocorrect) but I can’t figure out how to change the title 😳. 

https://www.relive.cc/view/1850023295

Today's ride: 34 km (21 miles)
Total: 1,022 km (635 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Mike AylingThe weather can change very quickly in mountainous areas (even here in the sun burned country) which means you should always carry your wet weather gear. I usually pack tights for leg warmth as well.

Mike
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Helen StarkSo I will add Hypothermia to the list of things you need to be protected from! Take care my friend. Today's ride, while fraught, was spectacular.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Mike AylingIt was quite the change and when it started we thought it would be a quick squall. Even on the west coast of Canada (which we fondly call the wet coast) it doesn’t usually rain that hard for that extended a period. It was a good reminder to hope for the best but prepare for the worst 👍. We did take our wet gear and I had my tights but thinking squall when it momentarily let up we left our tree and by the time we got to the next shelter I was so wet I didn’t put them on as it seemed pointless although when I look back on it I certainly should have. I should also have added layers under my goretex jacket but I didn’t want to take it off 😜. It was a combination of descent and rain that did me in. I was ridiculously cold. Lesson learned the hard way. The road bikers in their spandex kit were in a real pickle. One thing about Europe versus Aus or Canada is you are never far from help. Next time we may call a cab! Thanks so much for writing.
Kathleen
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Helen StarkThank you Helen. I am looking at today’s weather with a lot more attention! I am also going to dig all my gear out of the pannier if it rains today. I never want to be that cold and wet again!!!
Kathleen
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Scott AndersonThat is exactly what it was 😜. We are laughing this morning and talking about it. A bluebird morning here, but I am sure not counting on it staying that way today!
Kathleen
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Kathleen ClassenPS Shoes are still wet. Wool socks to the rescue.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Rachael AndersonSorry to hear about your hypothermia. I had a similar incident with hypothermia but it happened when we still had 25 miles to get to the hotel we had already paid for. We stopped for multiple hot drinks at the first town we came to and I still was shaking so we had a hot meal. It took a couple hours but I was able to continue. Now I always carry a lot of extra layers.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Rachael AndersonWe really learned (relearned) a lesson. 25 MILES!!!! OMG, I don’t think all the hot drinks and food in the world would have got me that far. We were saying this morning how lucky we were to be on the way down and not half way up...although I wouldn’t have been as cold climbing but then we would still have had to face the descent.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Kathleen ClassenYou live in Victoria. It can certainly do that on the mainland and did so last weekend.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Mike AylingI was thinking of your excellent advice this morning as we headed out. It was (and remained) a spectacular sunny day, but I put my rain gear, full finger gloves and tights right on top of my pannier and was ready for anything 👍.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Jacquie GaudetYou are right, it can! I hope it has cleared up for the coming weekend. I will have to take a look...
Reply to this comment
5 years ago