Arabba - Type One and a Half Fun - Poking Around Europe 5.0 - CycleBlaze

September 17, 2018

Arabba - Type One and a Half Fun

Cortina to Arabba

So, it was that kind of day. Type One and a Half fun might be a bit of an exaggeration as the CN felt great, but I was dragging. It was an interesting day, and since I write the blog you get my perspective 😜. Type One and a Half Fun as quoted from a website our son introduced us to is as follows: “Usually unaccounted for in normal fun scales, Type 1.5 fun sucks at some juncture, usually at whatever point you have to climb, but kicks ass and is all smiles later on, usually on the descent.”  Here is the full definition of the types of fun:  https://www.tetongravity.com/story/adventure/the-three-and-a-half-types-of-fun-explained.  It is hilarious and well worth reading. 

We had two choices today. Straight to Toblach and the down river run along the Drau River that we have planned. Or, a detour to Arabba, and from there to explore the Sellaronda, a series of passes in the Dolomites. Let me be very clear, Keith gave me the choice. But, I knew how much he is loving the Dolomites...he has been talking about them for a year. And I love Keith. When the weather dawned gorgeous I really felt we should go for it. I just didn’t realize what we were getting ourselves into!  He did, and I think I found the day tough partially because I wasn’t psyched up for it. 

The climbing started virtually outside the door of our hotel. It was unremitting for 17 km. I really should pay more attention because I was expecting something a bit more gentle. In addition to that there was traffic. With apologies to a very close friend who loves motorcycles, we are so tired of them. Even though we can see what a blast it must be to roar through the switchbacks. 

Going up. And up and up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
You can’t get away from them and you really can’t even be annoyed with them because they are having so much fun, are respectful on the road and give us a wide berth. But the noise!
Heart 0 Comment 0

We climbed and climbed and the CN was encouraging. I missed the scenery. We were below the tree line for quite awhile and the spectacular Dolomites were hiding. Of course I had just said that to the CN when there they were. That was very motivating. 

My pony resting. I was too.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back at those switchbacks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There they are 😎.
Heart 2 Comment 0
They are beautiful.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It really is a great feeling when you get to the summit though. Suddenly all the hard work is forgotten, there is a picture to take and a descent to look forward to. The descents, as we sedately make our way down, always make me think of the Tour de France and the fact that our descents don’t resemble theirs at all. Going downhill is about the only commonality. 

Still going up here, and I am smiling.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at the grade on the switchback coming up.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A wee rest break with a gorgeous mountain in the background.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We made it! The CN as fresh as a daisy and me thinking thank goodness 😅.
Heart 4 Comment 1

The descent was fun, and towards the bottom, before the climbing started again (sheesh) we met David who is running a supported tour through these iconic passes. What a great guy he was and we laughed and compared experiences. We exchanged blogs and I am looking forward to his pictures of his cycling in New Zealand, because the Spanish will be beyond me 😁. 

Um, guys, you just worked the brakes and the throttle to get up here. Just saying.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just an amazing descent.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Motorcycles approaching the tunnel.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This sort of view is what makes the climbing worthwhile.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The support vehicle. I could have used one today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We did end up climbing again, but at very manageable grades. Our hotel is fantastic. When Keith and I were enjoying a post ride recovery beverage in the hotel bar I suddenly realized I was ravenous and it struck me I had done the whole ride on very little food. I was working so hard I forgot to eat. I am usually smarter than that. We were also laughing at the incredible bad luck of booking a hotel, lovely though it may be, at the top of a steep hill. 

We waited for the noisy motorcycles to go through and then had it to ourselves. So much better. There was much less traffic on the descent than the ascent.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
A little navigational confirmation in the shade.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is what is coming up. A fabulous map, thanks to David. We are looking at at least part of the green route.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Keith and I have had an amazing dinner at the Hotel Alpenrose and now that I am fed and watered I feel up to anything. It will be a challenging but rewarding day tomorrow. One bonus, it is a great Relive!  You have to love those switchbacks!

Heart 1 Comment 0

https://www.relive.cc/view/1847709983

Today's ride: 41 km (25 miles)
Total: 988 km (614 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetIt looks fabulous! I am so envious. My husband went to the Dolomites in June (I couldn't go--the drawback of working in education) and I'm so envious of him too. I'll be retired after the end of December and trying my best to make up for lost time.

The Dolomites are very high on my bucket list but I've decided to postpone until I get my new, lighter bike. I should have it sometime next fall, but too late for a fall tour. Before you asked, I ordered a custom Ti bike from Naked Bicycles on Quadra Island. I should have done it back in 2014 but didn't want to wait.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Jacquie GaudetHi Jacquie - when you eventually get here you will love it. The Dolomites are spectacular as you know. Our day to Arabba caught Kathleen a bit off guard as she was not quite mentally prepared for the climb over the Falzarego Pass. Its a 900 meter climb over 17 kms from Cortina to the summit at 2100 m plus a final gradual climb into Arraba. The 2 days around the Sella Ronda were great with the exception of soaking we got coming into Val Gardena. I checked out the website of Naked Bicycles ...hadn’t heard of them. Exciting to get a new bike!!! You will love retirement and all the flexibity it brings...Keith
Reply to this comment
5 years ago