Onnens to Morges - Poking Around Europe 6.0 - CycleBlaze

May 4, 2019

Onnens to Morges

Successfully Dodging the Rain

We woke up this morning to short lived sunshine. By the time we were finished breakfast the sun was hiding. The weather forecast was a bit grim, but we were incredibly fortunate and pretty much dodged the rain. It was another fantastic day on Swiss National Route 5, albeit with a few hiccups. 

Our very atmospheric hotel. The room was a good size, they had robes, which I love, and at breakfast the croissants were warm.
Heart 2 Comment 0

We were once more completely kitted out for the rain. Leaving Onnens the sky was gray but it didn’t rain. We had some climbing right at the start but were rewarded with some beautiful views. 

Right after leaving Onnens.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Onnens is the village furthest in the distance.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The top of the first hill.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ride was just beautiful at this point and very quickly we were in Grandson, where there is another amazing castle. This stuff is just so amazing, and that it has survived and thrived is a wonderful thing. 

Pretty impressive, isn’t it. We had one of our hiccups here. Keith had to come back up a longish hill to find me blissfully reading about and admiring the castle. I thought he was right behind me doing the same hehe. We had a good laugh.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonBeen there, done that!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

Our next stop was Yverdon-les-Bains. What a beautiful town this is, right at the tip of Lac Neuchâtel. We arrived in the old town to be treated to the Fete la Danse and the Saturday market. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Perhaps I should take up pole dancing. What could go wrong?
Heart 1 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonThat’s great! Looks easy enough.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

Yverdon really is a beautiful spot, with a large pedestrian friendly old town and we spent some time exploring it. Despite the threatening skies and the forecast, up to this point we hadn’t experienced a drop of rain, which was great for us and great for the Fete de la Danse. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

After Yverdon we seemed to be riding into the eye of the storm as it were. Much to our great fortune though, a farmer had built a barn right over the bike path. It was there for us at the absolute perfect time. 

Check out that sky!
Heart 2 Comment 0
This spot came at the perfect time. Sometimes our good fortune astonishes me. We sat and had strawberries and tea. I am not making that up. I can also report that Italian strawberries are infinitely superior to the California variety. A different fruit.
Heart 6 Comment 5
Tricia GrahamI think your good fortune is because of your amazing positive attitude
Tricia
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetThe strawberries we had the other day were a different shape than the ones at home (BC or California). We gobbled them all down before I thought to get a photo, though, and we haven’t seen a market or fruit/veg shop since.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetThe strawberries we had the other day were a different shape than the ones at home (BC or California). We gobbled them all down before I thought to get a photo, though, and we haven’t seen a market or fruit/veg shop since.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kathleen ClassenThank you Tricia. A great riding partner helps too!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Our view from our barn. It was a short lived weather bomb thank goodness.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Once the rain rained itself out, we headed out. My bike had started to squeak (seriously, that is the best way I can put it) and I just kept ignoring it. Keith seemed to be able to take off on me, and I couldn’t figure it out. Then the penny dropped. Sure enough, on close inspection, my front brake was rubbing, and I was working way too hard. My intrepid and beloved photographer, navigator and mechanic soon had me sorted. I was grateful. 

We found a wonderful spot to stop for lunch. The rain we experienced under the fortuitous barn turned out to be the only rain for our day, and we enjoyed our picnic at a gigantic picnic table that was randomly at the side of the bike path at exactly the right time. 

Do note the way the flags are flying. I forgot to mention the head wind. That is why it took me so long to realize my front brake was acting up.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The riding from here on was just fantastic. For awhile the sun actually came out and we both had to shed clothing. Keith actually applied sunscreen. 

We were trolling up a fairly significant hill when I had another hiccup...shifting into granny gear I dropped my chain. I hollered, but Keith didn’t hear me. He found me after returning down the hill, poor guy, so maybe it was his hiccup. I was giving my hands a good wipe after getting the chain sorted when he arrived. 

It was just a beautiful ride. Sometimes I can’t believe what we are seeing.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Fresh lettuce anyone?
Heart 1 Comment 2
Scott AndersonI’m sorry Keith is unhappy with his new camera, but we certainly approve. What’s not to like here?
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kathleen ClassenHe is adjusting, but our son may be getting a slightly used camera for his birthday when we get back if we don’t break it before then. It has already been dropped once.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

When I dropped my chain a second time I wondered if Keith wasn’t wishing he was solo touring. He had already had the multitool out for the brakes, and this time, for better or worse for him, he did hear me yell, so he did the honours. He then suggested that until we got to the hotel and he could more comfortably consider the problem, I stay out of granny gear, which I valiantly did. It is good training for the French Alps, and I was a wee bit proud of myself, I have to say. 

Chain drop number two.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonLooks like great fun! And not being able to use your granny gear is the pits. When I’ve had problems with my gears I haven’t been able to use my high gear.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

The rest of the ride to Morges was wonderful and a surprise. We are back on Swiss National Route 5 and so we weren’t expecting mountain biking but that is what we got, along with dedicated bike paths and shared roads. It was an incredibly well signed mixed bag. It was wonderful. 

How, exactly, did we avoid the rain? We live under a lucky star.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Joy DavisLooks like a painting!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Joy DavisIt really does! Paint it 😁.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Rachael AndersonI’m glad to see we aren’t the only ones that get lucky with rain. I’m starting to feel guilty.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
We met Karl from Cologne, also touring. Such a happy encounter.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A little mountain biking with French gravel thrown in to make it interesting.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Before we knew it we were rolling into Morges. A beautiful spot. All that rain that we dodged?  It started shortly after we checked into our hotel. We are warm, cosy and happy.  It was a great day. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

https://www.relive.cc/view/2341135681

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 299 km (186 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0